Thursday, November 17

Solutions
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET

Loss and damage and adaptation: portrait of those left behind in the fight against climate change

The consequences of global warming are already being felt around the world. However, its impacts are disproportionately experienced by the most vulnerable. While mitigation measures to limit global warming are vital, adaptation measures and compensation for loss and damage are equally essential, especially to ensure the resilience of the most affected communities. Join us on this panel to learn more about: Where the climate negotiations stand on the issues of loss and harm; What is maladaptation and its effects on inequalities; The issues underlying these themes for the most vulnerable people in Quebec and elsewhere in the world.

lea_ilardo.jpg

Leah Ilardo

Léa Ilardo is a junior climate policy analyst at the David Suzuki Foundation and vice-president of policy and communications at ENvironnement JEUnesse (ENJEU). UdeS and ENJEU. In addition, she co-founded The planet invites itself to the University as part of the global movement of student strikes for the climate.

virginie_gaganon.jpg

Virginia Gagnon

Senior Campaigns Officer at OFAM-Québec

Pierre-Valois.jpeg

Pierre Valois

Professor in the department of foundations and practices in education at the University of Laval

thumbnail_IMG_9927.jpg

Sarah Munoz

PhD candidate at the Faculty of Arts and Sciences in the Department of Political Science at the University of Montreal

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 17 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for an assessment of this tenth day which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties so that they present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintaining a threshold 1.5°C within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding. members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
3-4:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

Technologies: one of the solutions to the climate crisis?

Between carbon capture technologies, renewable energies and intelligent systems, many promising technological solutions have been imagined by citizens around the world to try to solve the climate crisis. Do these technologies provide a viable, sustainable and accessible solution for all? What are the obstacles to their large-scale diffusion? What are the realities of these solutions on the African territory?

Soukaina-boudoudouh.png

Soukaina Boudoudouh

Technical Manager of R&D and Innovation Programs, at the Solar Energy and New Energies Research Institute (IRESEN)

Soukaina Boudoudouh was born in Tetouan, Morocco. She obtained the engineering degree in electrical engineering from the University of Technology of Belfort-Montbéliard, France and the doctorate in electrical engineering from the Mohammadia School of Engineers, Mohammed V University, Rabat, Morocco. His main research interests are smart grids, rail power grids, energy efficiency and energy management. She has extensive technical experience in energy efficiency and decarbonization of industry. She joined IRESEN as a post-doctoral student. She is currently the technical manager of R&D and innovation programs, and is developing an innovative solution to improve the lifespan of storage systems.

Martin-Larocque.png

Martin Larocque

Co-founder of Electrocarbon

For more than 20 years, Martin Larocque has been involved in the creation and growth of companies whose innovative projects contribute positively to the advancement of society. A passionate and results-oriented entrepreneur, he is involved in the propulsion of the energy transition targeting the potential of applied innovations in his business ecosystem. His experience acquired with large organizations, combined with his expertise in high-potential start-ups, have forged Martin to meet the challenges of the new economy markets. Its mission is to recognize the potential of an innovation, its technological positioning in the industry, its development and its execution of research and development projects.

Evolugen_MichelArchambault_Crop.jpg

Michel Archambault

Vice President, Hydrogen and Clean Fuels at Evolugen by Brookfield Energy

Michel Archambault is Vice President, Hydrogen and Clean Fuels at Evolugen by Brookfield Energy.  With more than 20 years of experience in the hydrogen sector, Michel has held various management Europe and North America, focused on the production of hydrogen by water electrolysis and on fuel cells (Fuel Cells).   He hopes that his experience, combined with his passion for the hydrogen industry, can help move Canada towards a low-carbon future.

Michel is a member of the Order of Engineers of Quebec and a registered professional engineer in Ontario (PEO).

He is currently president of Hydrogène Québec, vice-president of the board of the Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association (CHFCA.ca) and co-president of the hydrogen committee of the Association québécoise de la production d' renewable energy (AQPER).

Photo JF.jpeg

Jean-Francois L. Vachon

Jean-François Vachon has more than 15 years of practice in environment and urban planning during which he carried out several projects with Canadian municipalities and abroad. He is president of JFLV consultants, a consulting firm specializing in housing, conservation of natural environments and decarbonization of municipalities. Since 2014, Jean-François has been teaching the masters degree in environment at the University of Sherbrooke on viable communities, which allows him to stay informed on new trends, while sharing his passion with the next generation. He is a member of the Ordre des urbanistes du Québec in addition to being part of the first wave of LEED certified professionals since 2009.

Photo Bruno Detuncq_2022.jpg

Bruno Detuncq

Retired professor from École Polytechnique de Montréal since January 2017. Specialist in combustion and experimental measurements. Establishment of a laboratory for measuring gasoline engine emissions with testing on a dynamometric bench. Participated in research work on combustion in burners to analyze the dynamics of the jets. Design and implementation in 1995 of a new course entitled “Combustion and atmospheric pollution” which I gave until retirement.

 

Member of the Citizens' Committee Mobilization Environnement Ahuntsic-Cartierville (MEAC) and member of the coco of the Regroupement vigilance hydrocarbons Québec (RVHQ)

Meir-rabkin.png

Meir Rabkin

Meir is the founder and managing partner of Blue Vision Capital, a Quebec venture capital fund mobilized in the fight against climate change (clean energy and sustainable agriculture). He has 18 years of experience in the investment industry, with the largest investment companies in Canada such as Mackenzie Investments, CIBC Asset Management, Desjardins and Investors Group.

Jeudi 17 novembre

Solutions
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE

Pertes et préjudices et adaptation : portrait des laissés-pour-compte de la lutte contre les changements climatiques

Les conséquences du réchauffement climatique se font déjà ressentir partout à travers la planète. Cependant, ses impacts sont vécus de manière disproportionnée chez les personnes les plus vulnérables. Bien que des mesures d’atténuation pour limiter le réchauffement climatique soient vitales, les mesures d'adaptation et les compensations pour les pertes et préjudices sont tout aussi essentielles, notamment pour assurer la résilience des communautés les plus touchées. Venez nous rejoindre sur ce panel pour en savoir plus sur: Où en sont les négociations climatiques sur les questions des pertes et préjudices; Qu’est-ce que la mal adaptation et ses effets sur les inégalités; Les enjeux sous-tendus par ces thématiques pour les personnes les plus vulnérables au Québec et ailleurs dans le monde.

lea_ilardo.jpg

Léa Ilardo

Léa Ilardo est analyste des politiques climatiques à la Fondation David Suzuki et membre du conseil d’administration d’ENvironnement JEUnesse. Son travail s'articule autour de la justice environnementale et des enjeux de santé publique liés aux changements climatiques. En 2019, elle a participé à la COP 25 comme membre des délégations de l’UdeS et d’ENJEU. Léa a été très impliquée dans le mouvement étudiant de grève pour le climat des dernières années et collabore avec différents médias, dont 24 heures.

virginie_gaganon.jpg

Virginie Gagnon

Virginie Gagnon est agente principale aux campagnes chez Oxfam-Québec. Communicatrice passionnée, elle adore vulgariser et rendre accessible les questions liées aux inégalités, au genre, à la coopération internationale et à la pauvreté. Détentrice d’une maîtrise en droit international, elle possède plus de dix années d’expérience dans le domaine et a œuvré auprès de divers organismes au Québec comme à l’international.

Pierre-Valois.jpeg

Pierre Valois

Pierre Valois  est professeur titulaire et spécialiste dans le domaine de la mesure et l’évaluation à la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université Laval. Il est également directeur de l’Observatoire québécois de l’adaptation aux changements climatiques. Ses projets de recherche touchent notamment la mesure et l’évaluation des attitudes et des comportements pro-environnementaux, les comportements d’adaptation aux changements climatiques, l’éducation à la santé, les changements d’attitudes et de comportements et la validation de questionnaires.

thumbnail_IMG_9927.jpg

Sarah Munoz

Sarah Munoz est candidate au doctorat en science politique à l’Université de Montréal. Spécialisée en politique environnementale, ses recherches portent sur les (im)mobilités liées aux changements climatiques, en particulier sur les facteurs politiques, idéologiques et sociaux du déplacement et de la vulnérabilité. Plus généralement, elle s’intéresse aux enjeux d’adaptation et d’idéologies dans les politiques climatiques.

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 17 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette dixième journée qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
15h à 16h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Les technologies : une des solutions à la crise climatique ?

Entre technologies de captage de carbone, énergies renouvelables ou encore systèmes intelligents nombreuses sont les solutions technologiques prometteuses et pleines d’espérance imaginées par les citoyen.ne.s du monde entier pour tenter de solutionner la crise climatique. Ces technologies apportent-elles une solution viable, durable et accessible à tous ? Quels sont les freins à leur diffusion à grande échelle ? Quelles sont les réalités de ces solutions sur le territoire africain ?

Soukaina-boudoudouh.png

Soukaina Boudoudouh

Responsable technique des Programmes R&D et Innovation, à l'Institut de Recherche en Énergie Solaire et Énergies Nouvelles (IRESEN)

Soukaina Boudoudouh est née à Tétouan, au Maroc. Elle a obtenu le diplôme d'ingénieur en génie électrique de l'Université de technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard, en France et le doctorat en génie électrique de l'École Mohammadia d'ingénieurs, Université Mohammed V, Rabat, Maroc. Ses principaux intérêts de recherche sont les réseaux intelligents, les réseaux électriques ferroviaires, l'efficacité énergétique et la gestion de l'énergie. Elle a une grande expérience technique dans l'efficacité énergétique et la décarbonation de l'industrie. Elle rejoint l'IRESEN en tant que post-doctorante. Elle est actuellement responsable technique des programmes de R&D et d'innovation, et développe une solution innovante pour améliorer la durée de vie des systèmes de stockage.

Martin-Larocque.png

Martin Larocque

Co-fondateur de Electrocarbon

Depuis plus de 20 ans, Martin Larocque est impliqué dans la création et la croissance d’entreprises dont les projets novateurs contribuent positivement à l’avancement de la société. Entrepreneur passionné et axé sur les résultats, il est impliqué dans la propulsion de la transition énergétique ciblant le potentiel des innovations appliquées dans son écosystème d’affaires. Son expérience acquise auprès d’organisations envergures, combinée à son expertise dans les entreprises en démarrage à forts potentiels ont forgé Martin pour les relever les défis des marchés de la nouvelle économie. Sa mission a pour objectif de reconnaître le potentiel d’une innovation, son positionnement technologique dans l’industrie, son développement et son exécution de projets en recherche et développement.

Evolugen_MichelArchambault_Crop.jpg

Michel Archambault

Vice-Président, Hydrogène et Combustibles Propres chez Evolugen par Énergie Brookfield

Michel Archambault est Vice-Président, Hydrogène et Combustibles Propres chez Evolugen par Énergie Brookfield.  Avec plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de l’hydrogène, Michel a occupé différents postes de direction en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, axés sur la production d’hydrogène par électrolyse de l’eau et sur les piles à combustible (Fuel Cells).  Il souhaite que son expérience, jumelée à sa passion pour l’industrie de l’hydrogène, puisse aider à faire avancer le Canada vers un avenir faible en carbone.

Michel est membre de l’Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec et ingénieur professionnel enregistré en Ontario (PEO).

Il est actuellement président d’Hydrogène Québec, vice-président du conseil de l’Association Canadienne de l’Hydrogène et des Piles à Combustible (CHFCA.ca) et co-président du comité hydrogène de l’Association québécoise de la production d'énergie renouvelable (AQPER).

Photo JF.jpeg

Jean-François L. Vachon

Jean-François Vachon possède plus de 15 années de pratique en environnement et en urbanisme au cours desquelles il a réalisé plusieurs projets auprès de municipalités canadiennes et à l’étranger. Il est président de JFLV consultants, une firme d’experts-conseils spécialisée en habitation, conservation des milieux naturels et décarbonation des municipalités. Depuis 2014, Jean-François enseigne à la maîtrise en environnement de l’Université de Sherbrooke sur les collectivités viables, ce qui lui permet de rester informé sur les nouvelles tendances, tout en partageant sa passion avec la relève. Il est membre de l’Ordre des urbanistes du Québec en plus de faire partie de la première vague de professionnels certifiés LEED depuis 2009.

Photo Bruno Detuncq_2022.jpg

Bruno Detuncq

Professeur à la retraite de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal depuis janvier 2017. Spécialiste en combustion et mesures expérimentales. Mise en place d’un laboratoire de mesures des émissions des moteurs à essence avec essais sur banc dynamométrique. Participé à des travaux de recherche sur la combustion dans des brûleurs pour en analyser la dynamique des jets. Conception et mise en place en 1995 d’un nouveau cours intitulé « Combustion et pollution atmosphérique » que j’ai donné jusqu’au la retraite.

 

Membre du comité de citoyen Mobilisation Environnement Ahuntsic-Cartierville (MEAC) et membre du coco du Regroupement vigilance hydrocarbures Québec (RVHQ)

Meir-rabkin.png

Meir Rabkin

Meir est fondateur et directeur associé de de Blue Vision Capital, un fond de capital de risque québécois mobilisé dans la lutte aux changements climatiques (énergies propres et agricultures durables). Il possède 18 ans d'expérience dans le secteur de l'investissement, au sein des plus grandes sociétés de placement au Canada telles que Placements Mackenzie, Gestion d'actifs CIBC, Desjardins et le Groupe Investors.