Monday November 14

Water & Gender
OVERVIEW OF THE DAY
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

Gender mainstreaming for transformative climate action

12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

COP-27 debriefing session

 
3-4:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE 🌍

How to guarantee access to drinking water to communities vulnerable to climate change?

🌍 Available in english

DETAILED PROGRAMMING OF THE DAY

 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET VIDEOCONFERENCING

Gender mainstreaming for transformative climate action

Gender minorities are both the most affected by the consequences of climate change, but also the most concerned and proactive in the daily struggle. Numerous studies have shown that the presence of women in decision-making bodies improves results in terms of resource governance and environmental conservation. It is in this perspective that the issue of gender integration appears essential for transformative climate action. Where does Quebec stand on gender equity? Does Canadian policy promote the full emancipation of vulnerable communities, such as the 2SLGBTQ+ community, indigenous peoples or women, in climate action?

Marianne-Sarah-Saulnier.png

Marianne Sarah Saulnier

For more than 10 years now, Marianne has devoted her research to projects dealing with the issues and realities of historically discriminated against populations and the reduction of social and organizational inequalities. With a doctorate in anthropology, she is currently completing postdoctoral research at McGill University on the impact of climate change on social inequalities as well as on how climate migration increases gender-based violence.
In recent years, she has coordinated several projects aimed at greater equality, diversity and inclusion within various organizations, particularly in the health sector and in the Quebec education system. Alongside her research, she has been a member of the Conseil des Montréalaises since 2021.

Molie-dujardin.jpeg

Mollie Dujardin

Always looking to the future, Mollie Dujardin is deeply guided by her feminist convictions, it is impossible not to notice the vivacity that animates her when it comes to it. With a masters degree in international studies, she has worked for 5 years in the field of youth political engagement, international development and communications. She fundamentally believes that you have to get involved in civic life if you want to bring about real change and move towards social equality. Mollie believes that the involvement of women is essential in climate action. With her feet rooted in Quebec society, a vibrant heart for the feminist struggle and a head oriented towards the world, she is delighted to be part of the COP27 youth delegation.

AmandineG.-829x1024.jpg

Amandine Gournay

A graduate of the master's degree in Environmental Management and Applied Policy from the University of Sherbrooke, Amandine conducted her essay on ecofeminism and has since participated in various panels and conferences on the subject. In addition, she was part of a finalist duo in the Canadian final of the Map the System 2021 competition, with a research project focusing on gender and climate change. She wishes to invest in an inclusive and equitable ecological transition and is convinced that the response to the climate crisis must be intersectional. She is now a sustainable development advisor for the Network of Women in the Environment and its Quebec Council for Eco-responsible Events. 

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 14 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for a report on this seventh opening day, which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties to present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintain a 1.5°C threshold within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding.  These sessions will certainly see the emergence of new collaborations and strategies mobilization of members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
3-4:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

How to guarantee access to drinking water to communities vulnerable to climate change?

Quebec has 3% of the world's renewable freshwater resources, while only 0.1% of the world's population lives in this territory. Despite the abundance of fresh water in Quebec, where only 0.5% of the volume of water available on the territory is withdrawn (compared to 11% in OECD countries), some regions of the province could find themselves in a situation of drinking water shortage. The first to be affected by this inequity in access to quality drinking water are women and Aboriginal communities. Climate change could exacerbate some of the already critical situations in some communities. Flash floods, tornadoes, hurricanes or drought: to what extent are these extreme events likely to impact the quality of fresh water in Quebec? Why is this vulnerability uneven among communities and how can it be remedied?

Elsa beaulieu bastien.jpg

Elsa Beaulieu Bastien

Feminist researcher and organizer active for 18 years and elsewhere, notably with the Carrefour de participation ressourcement et formation (CPRF).

Rebecca_petrin.jpeg

Rebecca Petrin

Holder of a bachelors degree in biology and a masters degree in environmental management, Rébecca Pétrin has been fighting to protect the environment in the community for nearly 10 years. Since 2019, she has been Managing Director of Eau Secours for the promotion of responsible water management and access to it for all. Ms. Pétrin is also involved in nature conservation, in particular, since 2015, at the Société pour la conservation de la tourbière de Lanoraie. In the past, she notably had the opportunity to work as a political attaché in the ministerial cabinet for the environment.

charlene-winger_edited.jpg

Charlene Winger Jones Water Walker

Charlene Winger Jones is a water walker, she walks for water. She walked in ceremonial form along the Bruce Trail, a 740 km walking trail used by her people since time immemorial for trade, at the rate of approximately 20 km a day and a 6 week commitment. She also participates in community events on the environment and water, asserting Indigenous rights, and serves on the Nawash Hereditary Council as head of the Jones family. She is proud to be a 2019 Minneapolis-trained Climate Reality Ambassador, and she wants to create greater water awareness.

1652952268631.jpg

Elsa Beaulieu Bastien

Feminist researcher and organizer active for 18 years and elsewhere, notably with the Carrefour de participation ressourcement et formation (CPRF).

vladimir-arana.jpeg

Vladimir Arana

Program Coordinator at the International Secretariat for Water

Vladimir Arana, is currently the Program Coordinator at the Montreal-based International Secretariat for Water from 2013 to present, working on water governance projects with the Mohawk indigenous people at the Canada-US border, with indigenous peoples indigenous Quechua and Aymara in the Andes, as well as with West Africa and Central Asia. Previously, he was Senior Advisor to CAF-Development Bank of Latin America (2010-2012), Advisor to the Vice-Minister of the Environment of Peru (2008-2009), General Director of Urban Planning and of the Environment of the Ministry of Housing, Construction and Sanitation of Peru (2006-2008), consultant to the Consortium for the Sustainable Development of the Andean Ecoregion (CONDESAN), and the Advisory Group for Agricultural Research (CGIAR-CIP) (2004-2005), advisor to CARE International (2000-2003), as well as university professor in Peru, Finland and Canada. He has published books on water, sanitation and territorial development.

Lundi 14 novembre

Eau & Genre
APERÇU DE LA JOURNÉE
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

L'intégration du genre pour une action climatique transformatrice

12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Séance de débreffage de la CdP-27

 
15h à 16h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE 🌍

Comment garantir l'accès à l'eau potable aux communautés vulnérables aux changements climatiques ?

🌍 Evénement disponible en anglais

PROGRAMMATION DÉTAILLÉE DE LA JOURNÉE

 
8h30 à 9h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

L'intégration du genre pour une action climatique transformatrice

Les minorités de genre sont à la fois les plus affectées par les conséquences des changements climatiques, mais aussi les plus préoccupées et les plus proactives au quotidien dans cette lutte. De nombreuses études révèlent que la présence notamment des femmes au sein d’instances de décisions améliorent les résultats en matière de gouvernance des ressources et de conservation de l’environnement. C’est dans cette perspective que la question de l’intégration du genre apparaît essentielle pour une action climatique transformatrice. Où en est le Québec dans l’équité entre les genres ? Est-ce que la politique canadienne favorise l'émancipation pleine et entière des communautés vulnérables, telles que la communauté 2SLGBTQ+, les autochtones ou bien les femmes, dans l’action climatique ?

Marianne-Sarah-Saulnier.png

Marianne-Sarah Saulnier

Depuis maintenant plus de 10 ans, Marianne consacre ses recherches à des projets portant sur les enjeux et réalités des populations historiquement discriminées et la réduction des inégalités sociales et organisationnelles. Diplômée d’un doctorat en anthropologie, elle termine présentement une recherche postdoctorale à l’Université McGill sur l’impact des changements climatiques sur les inégalités sociales ainsi que sur la manière dont les migrations climatiques augmentent les violences basées sur le genre.
Dans les dernières années, elle a été amenée à coordonner plusieurs projets visant une plus grande égalité, diversité et inclusion au sein de différentes organisations, notamment dans le milieu de la santé et dans le système d’éducation québécois. Parallèlement à ses recherches, elle est membre du Conseil des Montréalaises depuis 2021.

Molie-dujardin.jpeg

Mollie Dujardin

Toujours tournée vers l’avenir, Mollie Dujardin est profondément guidée par ses convictions féministes, il est impossible de ne pas constater la vivacité qui l’anime lorsqu’il en est question. Avec une maîtrise en études internationales, elle gravite depuis 5 ans dans le domaine de l'engagement politique jeunesse, le développement international et les communications. Elle croit fondamentalement qu’il faut s’impliquer dans la vie citoyenne si l’on veut apporter de réels changements et avancer vers l’égalité sociale. Mollie pense que l’implication des femmes est indispensable dans l’action climatique. Pieds ancrés dans la société québécoise, cœur vibrant pour la lutte féministe et tête orientée vers le monde, elle est ravie de faire partie de la délégation jeunesse de la COP27.

AmandineG.-829x1024.jpg

Amandine Gournay

Diplômée de la maîtrise en Gestion de l’environnement et politique appliquée de l’Université de Sherbrooke, Amandine a réalisé son essai sur l’écoféminisme et a depuis participé à divers panels et conférences sur le sujet. De plus, elle a fait partie d'un duo finaliste à la finale canadienne du concours Map the System 2021, avec un projet de recherche portant sur le genre et les changements climatiques. Elle souhaite s'investir pour une transition écologique inclusive et équitable et est convaincue que la réponse à la crise climatique doit être intersectionnelle. Elle est maintenant conseillère en développement durable au Réseau des femmes en environnement et son Conseil québécois des événements écoresponsables. 

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 14 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette septième journée d’ouverture qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
15h à 16h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Comment garantir l'accès à l'eau potable aux communautés vulnérables aux changements climatiques ?

Le Québec possède 3% des ressources d’eau douce renouvelable de la planète, alors qu’à peine 0,1% de la population mondiale vit sur ce territoire. Malgré l’abondance de l’eau douce au Québec, où seulement 0,5% du volume d’eau disponible sur le territoire est prélevé (comparativement à 11% dans les pays de l’OCDE), certaines régions de la province pourraient se retrouver en situation de pénurie d’eau potable. Les premiers touchés par cette iniquité d’accès à une eau potable de qualité sont notamment les femmes et les communautés autochtones En cause : les changements climatiques qui pourraient exacerber certaines des situations déjà critiques dans certaines localités. Crues éclairs, tornades, ouragans ou sécheresse : dans quelle mesure ces événements extrêmes risquent-ils d'impacter la qualité de l’eau douce au Québec ? Pourquoi cette vulnérabilité est inéquitable entre les communautés et comment y remédier ?

Elsa beaulieu bastien.jpg

Elsa Beaulieu Bastien

Militante et anthropologue féministe

Elsa est formatrice en éducation populaire autonome au Carrefour de participation, ressourcement et formation (CPRF). Militante et anthropologue féministe, elle s’intéresse à l’écoféminisme et aux questions d’environnement, de climat et de souveraineté alimentaire. Elle enseigne dans le programme court de deuxième cycle en développement économique communautaire à l’Université Concordia.

Rebecca_petrin.jpeg

Rébecca Pétrin

Directrice générale de Eau Secours

 

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie et d’une maîtrise en Gestion de l’environnement, Rébecca Pétrin lutte à la protection de l'environnement dans le milieu communautaire depuis près de 10 ans. Depuis 2019, elle est directrice générale d'Eau Secours pour la promotion d'une gestion responsable de l'eau et son accès à tous. Madame Pétrin s’implique également en conservation de la nature notamment, depuis 2015, à la Société pour la conservation de la tourbière de Lanoraie. Dans le passé, elle a eu notamment l'opportunité de travailler comme attachée politique au cabinet ministériel de l'environnement.

charlene-winger_edited.jpg

Charlene Winger Jones Water Walker

Charlene Winger Jones est une marcheuse de l'eau, elle marche pour l'eau. Elle a marché en forme de cérémonie tout au long du Bruce Trail, un sentier pédestre de 740 km utilisé par son peuple depuis des temps immémoriaux pour le commerce, à raison d'environ 20 km par jour et d'un engagement de 6 semaines. Elle participe également à des événements communautaires sur l'environnement et l'eau, en affirmant les droits des Autochtones, et fait partie du conseil héréditaire de Nawash en tant que chef de la famille Jones. Elle est fière d'être une Ambassadrice de la réalité climatique formée à Minneapolis en 2019, et elle veux créer une plus grande sensibilisation à l'eau.

1652952268631.jpg

Aude Sturma

Sociologue de l’environnement, chercheure associée au Centre d’Etudes et de Recherche Travail, Organisation Pouvoir (CERTOP/CNRS)

Je m’intéresse au lien entre santé et environnement, plus particulièrement aux interactions complexes entre normes environnementales, organisation sociale, pouvoir politique local et système institutionnel. A travers mes différents terrains de recherche, j’ai porté mon regard sur le lien entre gouvernance locale de l’eau et la précarité sanitaire. Aujourd’hui la question de l’accès à l’eau pour les publics précaires devient centrale dans ma recherche dans un contexte de changement climatique et d’exacerbation des risques sanitaires qui en résulte.

vladimir-arana.jpeg

Vladimir Arana

Coordinateur de programme au Secrétariat international de l'eau

Vladimir Arana, est actuellement coordinateur de programme au Secrétariat international de l'eau basé à Montréal de 2013 à aujourd'hui, travaillant sur des projets de gouvernance de l'eau avec le peuple autochtone Mohawk à la frontière canado-américaine, avec les peuples autochtones quechua et aymara dans les Andes, ainsi qu'avec l'Afrique de l'Ouest et l'Asie centrale. Auparavant, il a été conseiller principal auprès de la CAF-Banque de développement d'Amérique latine (2010-2012), conseiller auprès du vice-ministre de l'environnement du Pérou (2008-2009), directeur général de l'urbanisme et de l'environnement du ministère du logement, de la construction et de l'assainissement du Pérou (2006-2008), consultant auprès du Consortium pour le développement durable de l'écorégion andine (CONDESAN), et du Groupe consultatif pour la recherche agricole internationale (CGIAR-CIP) (2004-2005), conseiller auprès de CARE International (2000-2003), ainsi que professeur d'université au Pérou, en Finlande et au Canada. Il a publié des livres sur l'eau, l'assainissement et le développement territorial.