Tuesday, November 15

Energy & ACE and Civil Society
OVERVIEW OF THE DAY
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

What does a just transition under the Egyptian presidency mean?

12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

COP-27 debriefing session

 
3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

What is the role of Quebec civil society in the energy transition?

DETAILED PROGRAMMING OF THE DAY

 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET VIDEOCONFERENCING

A just transition for the Egyptian presidency, what does that mean?

Although Africa's contribution to greenhouse gas emissions is minimal, its people suffer disproportionately from the consequences of climate change. Indeed, some individuals and communities face greater risks associated with climate change and environmental degradation. Also, many African countries are trapped in economic opportunities related to fossil fuel exploitation. As Egypt hosts this year's COP27, the idea of transitioning to an equitable and inclusive post-carbon society makes sense. The Climate Dialogues invite you to learn more about the concept of just transition and how it is really happening on the African continent?

P.rondeau.jpg

Patrick Rondeau

Patrick Rondeau has been a union advisor – Environment and just transition for the Quebec Federation of Labor (FTQ) since 2019. He was an FTQ regional advisor for the greater metropolitan area from 2012 to 2019. He was also in charge of mobilization and coordinated several national campaigns at the FTQ, including Minimum 15$.

He coordinated various delegations from the FTQ and the Fonds de solidarité FTQ to the COPs. Patrick also represents the union constitution in various forums and expert groups of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change on just transition.

Patrick has been active and working in the labor movement since 2000.

Alienor-rougeot.jpg

Aliénor Rougeot

Aliénor (Allie) Rougeot is a climate justice activist and program manager at Environmental Defense Canada, where she advocates for a just transition for workers and communities. She has been an advocate for human rights since a young age, and co-founded the group Fridays for Future Toronto in 2018, where she led numerous student climate strikes. She was recognized by The Starfish in their 25 under 25 Environmentalists ranking and by Corporate Knights in their 30 Under 30 Sustainability Leaders.

etienne-pomerleau.jpeg

Etienne Pomerleau-Landry

Senior advisor at COPTICOM since 2018, Étienne is frequently called upon to coordinate alliances and committees of experts where he favors the establishment of a constructive and effective dialogue between the economic, social, environmental and academic communities in order to contribute to the transformation of Quebec society. 

Étienne worked for five years as a political advisor to the Minister of the Environment and to the leader of the official opposition in the National Assembly of Quebec.

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 15 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for an assessment of this eighth day which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties so that they present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintaining a threshold 1.5°C within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding. members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

What is the role of Quebec civil society in the energy transition?

In effect since June 10, 2022, the 2026 upgrade of the Energy Transition, Innovation and Efficiency Master Plan sets the course for the energy transition in Quebec for the next 4 years. From transportation to industry, including bioenergy, this plan includes more than 200 measures. Between efficiency and sobriety, its implementation requires a collective effort on the part of all actors of Quebec's civil society. What are the real impacts on Quebecers and to what extent are they involved in this transition?

2019_Laure Waridel__253_©JulieDurocher.jpeg

Laure Waridel

Laure Waridel is a PhD ecosociologist, associate professor at the Institute of Environmental Sciences at UQAM and advisor to the law firm Trudel, Johnston & Lespérance (TJL). Co-founder of Équiterre, pioneer of fair trade and responsible consumption in Quebec, she is also co-author of the Pacte pour la transition and co-instigator of the Mères au front movement. Laure Waridel has written several books, including “Acheter, c'est vote”, “L'Envers de l'assiette” and her most recent “La transition, c'est là-tenant”. She also made a name for herself through her columns on Radio-Canada radio. She writes a column in the Journal de Montréal and the Journal de Québec.

Dominique-bernier.jpeg

Dominique Bernier

Dominique Bernier is an education advisor for a viable future at the Centrale des unions du Québec, where she deals with issues related to the environment and just transition. She coordinates the CSQ's Collective Action Movement in Environmental and Social Transition, the ACTES Movement. She also represents the CSQ on the Inter-union climate network (RIC) as well as on the board of directors of the Common Front for Energy Transition, of which she is the chair.

Martin-vaillancourt.png

Martin Vaillancourt

Martin Vaillancourt is Director General of the National Regrouping of Regional Environmental Councils of Quebec, he has been working within the CRE network since 2012, first as administrator of the CRE Chaudière-Appalaches (CRECA), then, since 2015 , as general manager. Driven by consultation, Martin has developed expertise as a facilitator in various files with government stakeholders, local decision-makers, organizations and citizen groups. He has also acquired expertise in mobilization and awareness-raising in the fight against climate change and energy transition.

Mustapha-ouyed.png

Mustapha Ouyed

Mr. Mustapha Ouyed is co-founder and Executive Vice-President of Groupe ONYM, a Quebec company that produces and markets bioenergy and bioproducts to effectively reduce the carbon footprint of products and services. His training in environmental engineering, his involvement on the Board of Directors of the Conseil Patronal de l'Environnement du Québec (CPEQ), as well as on the orientation council of the Center for Studies in Chemical Processes of Quebec (CEPROCQ) , and his presence as a delegate at the United Nations conferences COP 11, 15, 17 and 22 make him an essential reference for all questions of greenhouse gas management and energy transition.

Jean-pierre Finet

Jean-Pierre Finet

Jean-Pierre Finet has more than 30 years of experience in energy efficiency in Quebec, Canada and internationally. For the past 10 years, Jean-Pierre has been representing the Regroupement des organizations Environnementaux en Energie (ROEE) as an analyst in matters of economic regulation of energy and energy policies.

The eight members of ROEE are Nature Québec, Fondation Rivières, Canot Kayak Québec, Regroupement Vigilance Hydrocarbures Québec, the Madelinéenne Association for Energy and Environmental Security, Coule pas chez nous, the Association for Nuclear Surveillance and Écohabitation.

Mr. Finet mainly intervenes in Énergir and Hydro-Québec cases before the Régie de l'énergie, but also during hearings of the Bureau d'audiences publiques sur l'environnement and during parliamentary committees.

Jean-Pierre holds a Bachelors degree in Political Science and a Diploma in Communications and Public Relations.

Mardi 15 novembre

Énergie & ACE et Société civile
APERÇU DE LA JOURNÉE
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Une transition juste sour la présidence égyptienne, ça veut dire quoi ?

12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Séance de débreffage de la CdP-27

 
15h30 à 17h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Quel est le rôle de la société civile québécoise dans la transition énergétique ?

PROGRAMMATION DÉTAILLÉE DE LA JOURNÉE

 
8h30 à 9h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Une transition juste pour présidence égyptienne, ça veut dire quoi ?

Bien que la contribution de l’Afrique aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre soit minimale, les habitants de ce continent souffrent disproportionnellement des conséquences des changements climatiques. En effet, certains individus et communautés font face à de plus grands risques associés aux changements climatiques et à la dégradation de l’environnement. Également, plusieurs pays d’Afrique sont piégés dans des opportunités économiques liées à l'exploitation des énergies fossiles. Alors que l’Egypte accueille cette année la COP27, l’idée de transition vers une société post-carbone équitable et inclusive prend tout son sens. Les Dialogues pour le climat vous invitent alors à en apprendre plus sur le concept de transition juste et comment cela se concrétise réellement sur le continent africain ?

P.rondeau.jpg

Patrick Rondeau

Patrick Rondeau est conseiller syndical – Environnement et transition juste pour la Fédération des travailleurs et des travailleuses du Québec (FTQ) depuis 2019. Il a été conseiller régional FTQ pour la grande région métropolitaine de 2012 à 2019. Il a également eu la charge de la mobilisation et a coordonné plusieurs campagnes nationales à la FTQ dont Minimum 15$.

Il a coordonné différentes délégations de la FTQ et du Fonds de solidarité FTQ aux COP. Patrick représente également la constitution syndicale à différents forums et groupes d’experts de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques portant sur la transition juste.

Patrick milite et travaille dans le mouvement syndical depuis 2000.

Alienor-rougeot.jpg

Aliénor Rougeot

Aliénor (Allie) Rougeot est une militante pour la justice climatique et responsable de Programmes à Environmental Defence Canada, où elle milite pour une transition juste pour les travailleurs et les communautés. Elle défend les droits humains depuis son plus jeune âge, et a cofondé le groupe Fridays for Future Toronto en 2018, où elle a dirigé de nombreuses grèves étudiantes pour le climat.. Elle a été reconnue par The Starfish dans leur classement 25 under 25 Environmentalists et par Corporate Knights dans leurs 30 Under 30 Sustainability Leaders.

etienne-pomerleau.jpeg

Étienne Pomerleau-Landry

Conseiller principal chez COPTICOM depuis 2018, Étienne est fréquemment appelé à intervenir pour coordonner des alliances et des comités d’experts où il privilégie la mise en place d’un dialogue constructif et efficace entre les milieux économique, social, environnemental et académique afin de contribuer à la transformation de la société québécoise. 

Étienne a travaillé pendant cinq ans au poste de conseiller politique auprès du ministre de l’Environnement et du chef de l’opposition officielle à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 15 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette huitième journée qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
15h30 à 17h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Quel est le rôle de la société civile québécoise dans la transition énergétique ?

En vigueur depuis le 10 juin 2022, la mise à niveau 2026 du Plan directeur en transition, innovation et efficacité énergétiques donne la voie à suivre pour enclencher la transition énergétique au Québec pour les 4 prochaines années. Du transport aux industries, en passant par les bioénergies, ce plan inclut plus de 200 mesures. Entre efficacité et sobriété, sa mise en application demande un effort collectif de la part de tous les acteurs de la société civile du Québec. Quels sont véritablement les impacts sur les québécois.e.s et dans quelle mesure sont-ils impliqués dans cette transition ?

2019_Laure Waridel__253_©JulieDurocher.jpeg

Laure Waridel

Laure Waridel est écosociologue PhD, professeure associée à l’Institut des sciences de l’environnement de l’UQAM et conseillère au cabinet juridique Trudel, Johnston & Lespérance (TJL). Cofondatrice d’Équiterre, pionnière du commerce équitable et de la consommation responsable au Québec, elle est aussi co-auteure du Pacte pour la transition et co-instigatrice du mouvement Mères au front. Laure Waridel a écrit plusieurs livres dont «Acheter, c’est voter », « L’Envers de l’assiette » et son plus récent « La transition, c’est maintenant ». Elle s’est aussi fait connaître par ses chroniques à la radio de Radio-Canada. Elle tient une chronique dans le Journal de Montréal et le Journal de Québec.

Dominique-bernier.jpeg

Dominique Bernier

Dominique Bernier est conseillère en éducation pour un avenir viable à la Centrale des syndicats du Québec, où elle s’occupe des dossiers liés à l’environnement et à la transition juste. Elle coordonne le Mouvement d’Action collective en transition environnementale et sociale de la CSQ, le Mouvement ACTES. Elle représente également la CSQ au Réseau intersyndicale pour le climat (RIC) ainsi qu’au conseil d’administration du Front commun pour la transition énergétique, dont elle assume la présidence.

Martin-vaillancourt.png

Martin Vaillancourt

Martin Vaillancourt est directeur général du Regroupement national des conseils régionaux de l’environnement du Québec, il œuvre au sein du réseau des CRE depuis 2012, d’abord à titre d’administrateur du CRE Chaudière-Appalaches (CRECA), puis, depuis 2015, comme directeur général. Animé par la concertation, Martin a développé une expertise en tant que facilitateur dans divers dossiers auprès d’intervenants gouvernementaux, de décideurs locaux, d’organismes et de groupes citoyens. Il a aussi acquis une expertise en mobilisation et en sensibilisation en matière de lutte contre les changements climatiques et de transition énergétique.

Mustapha-ouyed.png

Mustapha Ouyed

M. Mustapha Ouyed est co-fondateur et Vice-Président Exécutif de Groupe ONYM, une entreprise québécoise qui produit et commercialise des bioénergies et des bioproduits pour réduire efficacement l’empreinte carbone des produits et services. Sa formation en ingénierie de l'environnement, son implication au conseil d'Administration du conseil Patronal de l'Environnement du Québec (CPEQ), ainsi qu'au conseil d'orientation du Centre d'Études en Procédés chimiques du Québec (CEPROCQ), et sa présence à titre de délégué aux conférences des Nations Unies COP 11, 15, 17 et 22 font de lui une référence incontournable pour toutes questions de la gestion des gaz à effet de serre et de la transition énergétique.

Jean-pierre Finet

Jean-Pierre Finet

Jean-Pierre Finet compte plus de 30 ans d’expérience en efficacité énergétique au Québec, au Canada et sur la scène internationale. Depuis les 10 dernières années, Jean-Pierre représente le Regroupement des organismes environnementaux en énergie (ROEÉ) en tant qu’analyste en matière de régulation économique de l’énergie et de politiques énergétiques.

Les huit membres du ROEÉ sont Nature Québec, Fondation Rivières, Canot Kayak Québec, Regroupement Vigilance Hydrocarbures Québec, l’Association madelinéenne pour la sécurité énergétique et environnementale, Coule pas chez nous, l’Association pour la surveillance du nucléaire et Écohabitation.

Monsieur Finet intervient principalement dans les dossiers d’Énergir et d’Hydro-Québec devant la Régie de l’énergie, mais aussi lors d’audiences du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement et lors des commissions parlementaires.

Jean-Pierre détient un Baccalauréat en Sciences politiques et un Diplôme en Communications et relations publiques.