Wednesday 09 November

Finance
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET

The International Climate Finance Breakfast

With COP27 under the Egyptian presidency, this year more than ever the issue of raising funds for developing countries is at the center of the climate debate. By announcing in 2021 that it would double its participation in international climate finance to $5.3 billion, Canada has responded to the demand for greater climate ambition. But how did the country deliver on this promise? Will financial support from the richest countries be enough to mitigate emissions in the Global South? Come and learn more about the challenges of international climate finance!

Eddy perez.jpg

Eddy Perez

Eddy Pérez joined the Climate Action Network in January 2018 after working in Geneva with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). He is currently Director of International Climate Diplomacy for Climate Action Network Canada. He is also a lecturer at the University of Montreal.

Denis_Cote_edited.jpg

Denis Cote

Denis Côté has been a policy analyst at the Quebec Association of International Cooperation Organizations (AQOCI) since September 2015.

Within the network, he works on issues related to human rights, women's rights and gender equality, the environment, climate justice, corporate accountability and aid, among others. international. Before joining AQOCI, Denis worked for six years at the Canadian Council for International Cooperation (CCIC), now called Cooperation Canada, as coordinator of the Asia Task Force.

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 9 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for a report on this third opening day which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties so that they present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintain a 1.5°C threshold within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding.  These sessions will certainly see the emergence of new collaborations and strategies mobilization of members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

A Stable Low-Carbon Financial System: Is It Really Possible?

Redirecting investments that are high emitters of greenhouse gases towards clean and sustainable investments: this is the challenge for Canadian finance to meet its climate commitments. Financial institutions, both public and private, are becoming aware that they are on the front lines of climate risk. The world is seeing new economic initiatives from central banks, financial regulators and private actors. What about the GFANZ [Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero], the initiative to accelerate the decarbonization of the financial sector by 2050, which was launched a few months before the COP26 summit in Glasgow? Are Canadian banks ready to join the UN's "net zero" club? Come and ask for ambitious and coherent legislation for Canada to become a leader in this new low-carbon economy.

Capture d’écran 2022-10-21 à 14.41.12.png

Rosa Galvez

The Honorable Rosa Galvez is an environmental engineer, independent senator from Quebec and chair of the ParlAmericas Parliamentary Network on Climate Change. She was a professor at Laval University in Quebec for more than 25 years and headed the civil and water engineering department from 2011 to 2017. She specializes in soil and water decontamination, waste management, impact and climate risk assessment on infrastructure. In the Senate, she sits on the Standing Committee on National Finance and the Standing Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources, having chaired the latter from 2017 to 2019.

Lea_Pelletier.jpg

Lea Pelletier-Marcotte

Léa Pelletier Marcotte is a political analyst at Oxfam-Québec. A lawyer by training, she worked for five years in the defense of rights and the development of human rights advocacy, both locally and internationally. She holds a bachelor's degree in civil law and common law (BCL/LL.B., 2016) from McGill University, a bachelor's degree in international relations and international law (BA, 2009) and a master's in international politics and international law (MA, 2011) from the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQÀM). She is also a lecturer at the Faculty of Political Science and Law at UQÀM.

Sebastien_collard.png

Sebastien Collard

Sébastien Collard is a worker in the health network who launched a campaign in 2014 to get fossil fuels out of his pension fund (RREGOP) managed by the Caisse de depot et placement du Québec (CDPQ). As spokesperson for the Sortons la Caisse du Carbone coalition, he helped calculate and publish the returns on fossil fuel investments at the Caisse between 2010 and today. In the process that led to the divestment of oil and coal at the CDPQ, he paid particular attention to joining the major labor organizations in the movement. The coalition welcomed the CDPQ's announcement to exit from oil and coal by the end of 2022 and is continuing the work by demanding in particular the exit from the exploitation of gas and the transport sector from fossil fuels.

daniel-simard.png

Daniel Simard

Daniel Simard was General Manager of Bâtirente from 1996 to 2021. He retired in June 2022 after having acted as special advisor to Bâtirente management. The Bâtirente retirement system is intended for unions affiliated with the Confederation of National Trade Unions (CSN) and their members and today has more than 25,000 active, inactive and retired participants. Its assets under management are around $900 million. From March to August 2022, Daniel served as Interim Managing Director of Æquo Shareholder Engagement Services where he serves as a management advisor.

Diego.jpg

Diego Creimer

Diego is responsible for natural climate solutions and government relations at CPAWS Quebec.

Mercredi 09 novembre

Finance
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE

Le petit-déjeuner de la finance climatique internationale

Avec une COP27 sous présidence égyptienne, cette année plus que jamais la question de la collecte de fonds en faveur des pays en développement est au centre des débats climatiques. En annonçant en 2021 qu’il allait doubler sa participation au financement international climatique pour le porter à 5,3 milliards de dollars, le Canada a répondu à la demande d’une plus grande ambition climatique. Mais alors comment le pays a concrétisé cette promesse ? Les aides financières des pays les plus riches suffiront-elles à atténuer les émissions des pays du Sud global ? Venez vous outiller pour comprendre tous les enjeux de la finance climatique internationale !

Eddy perez.jpg

Eddy Pérez

Eddy Pérez s’est joint au Réseau action climat en janvier 2018 après avoir travaillé à Genève avec le Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC). Il est présentement directeur de la diplomatie climatique internationale pour le Réseau action climat Canada. Il est également chargé de cours à l’Université de Montréal.

Denis_Cote_edited.jpg

Denis Côté

Denis Côté est analyste des politiques à l’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI) depuis septembre 2015.

Au sein du réseau, il travaille notamment sur des questions liées aux droits humains, aux droits des femmes et à l’égalité des genres, à l’environnement, à la justice climatique, à la reddition de compte des entreprises et à l’aide internationale. Avant de se joindre à l’AQOCI, Denis a travaillé pendant six ans au Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI), maintenant appelé Coopération Canada, en tant que coordonnateur du Groupe de travail sur l’Asie.

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 9 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette troisième journée d’ouverture qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
15h00 à 16h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Un système financier stable à faibles émissions de carbone : est-ce réellement possible ?

Réorienter les investissements fortement émetteurs des gaz à effet de serre vers des investissements propres et durables : c’est le défi de la finance canadienne pour répondre à ses engagements climatiques. Les institutions financières, qu’elles soient publiques ou privées, prennent conscience qu’elles sont en première ligne face au risque climatique. Le monde entier voit naître de nouvelles initiatives économiques de la part des banques centrales, des autorités de réglementation financière et des acteurs privés. Qu’en est-il de l’alliance GFANZ [Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero], l’initiative destinée à accélérer la décarbonation du secteur financier d’ici 2050, qui a été lancée quelques mois avant le sommet de la COP26 à Glasgow ? Les banques canadiennes sont-elles prêtes à rejoindre le club “net zéro” de l’ONU ? Venez demander une législation ambitieuse et cohérente pour que le Canada devienne exemplaire et prenne part à cette nouvelle économie à faibles émissions de carbone.

Capture d’écran 2022-10-21 à 14.41.12.png

Rosa Galvez

L’honorable Rosa Galvez est ingénieure environnementale, sénatrice indépendante du Québec et présidente du Réseau parlementaire sur le changement climatique de ParlAmericas. Elle était professeure à l’Université Laval à Québec pendent plus de 25 ans et a dirigé le département de génie civil et de génie des eaux de 2011 à 2017. Elle se spécialise en décontamination des sols et des eaux, en gestion de déchets, en évaluation d’impacts et en risque climatique sur l’infrastructure. Au Sénat, elle siège sur le Comité permanent des finances nationales et le Comité permanent de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles, ayant présidé ce dernier de 2017 à 2019.

Lea_Pelletier.jpg

Léa Pelletier-Marcotte

Léa Pelletier Marcotte est analyste politique chez Oxfam-Québec. Avocate de formation, elle a travaillé pendant cinq ans en défense de droits et au développement de plaidoyers en droits humains, tant au niveau local qu’international. Elle est détentrice d'un baccalauréat en droit civil et en common law (B.C.L./LL.B., 2016) de l'Université McGill, d'un baccalauréat en relations internationales et droit international (B.A., 2009) et d'une maîtrise en politique internationale et droit international (M.A., 2011) de l'Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM). Elle est également chargée de cours à la Faculté de science politique et de droit de l'UQÀM.

Sebastien_collard.png

Sébastien Collard

Sébastien Collard est un travailleur du réseau de la santé ayant entrepris en 2014 une campagne pour sortir les énergies fossiles de son fonds de pension (le RREGOP) géré par la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ). En tant que porte-parole de la coalition Sortons la Caisse du Carbone, il a contribué à calculer et publier les rendements des placements dans les énergies fossiles à la Caisse entre 2010 et aujourd’hui. Dans le cheminement ayant mené au désinvestissement du pétrole et du charbon à la CDPQ, il a porté une attention particulière à joindre les grandes organisations syndicales au mouvement. La coalition a salué l’annonce de la CDPQ de sortir du pétrole et du charbon d’ici la fin 2022 et poursuit le travail en revendiquant notamment la sortie de l’exploitation du gaz et du secteur du transport des énergies fossiles.

daniel-simard.png

Daniel Simard

Daniel Simard a été directeur général de Bâtirente de 1996 à 2021. Il a pris sa retraite en juin 2022 après avoir agi à titre de conseiller spécial auprès de la direction de Bâtirente. Le système de retraite Bâtirente s’adresse aux syndicats affiliés à la Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN) et à leurs membres et compte aujourd’hui plus de 25 000 participants actifs, inactifs et retraités. Ses actifs sous gestion avoisinent les 900 millions $. De mars à août 2022, Daniel a occupé le poste de directeur général par intérim de Æquo Services d’engagement actionnarial où il occupe le poste de conseiller de la direction.

Diego.jpg

Diego Creimer

Diego est responsable solutions naturelles pour le climat et relations gouvernementales à la SNAP Québec.