Wednesday, November 16

Biodiversity
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET

COP27 and COP15, what are the links?

The issues of global warming and biodiversity loss are intrinsically linked and have a two-way relationship. However, although the Earth Summit in 1992 gave birth to the Convention on Biological Diversity and the Convention on Climate Change, international negotiations are conducted in parallel. So, what are the connections to be made between these two COPs? How can the progress of one of these Conferences of the Parties influence the other? What can we expect from these two summits this year?

Anne_Céline Guyon.PNG

Anne-Celine Guyon

Holder of a master's degree in anthropology from Laval University, it was in 2016 that Anne-Céline made the professional leap into the fight against climate change by coordinating the coalition against the Energy East pipeline. Since then, she has coordinated the Common Front for Energy Transition and the Pact for Transition. In 2021, she joined the Nature Québec team as a climate project manager.

Dominique Gravel.png

Dominique Gravel

Dominique is a professor of terrestrial ecology and holder of the Canada Research Chair in Integrative Ecology.

Diego.jpg

Diego Creimer

Diego is responsible for natural climate solutions and government relations at SNAP Quebec.

andrew_gonzalez.jpeg

Andrew González

Andrew is a professor in the Department of Biology at McGill University and founding director of the Quebec Center for Biodiversity Science.

He also co-founded Eco2Urb.

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 16 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for a report on this ninth day which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties to present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintaining a threshold 1.5°C within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding. members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
6-8 p.m. ET

Conserving Canada's boreal forests: a priority to meet the targets set by the Paris Agreement

House of Sustainable Development
Room Clark
50 Sainte-Catherine Street West

Of major importance culturally, economically and environmentally, Canada's boreal forests are now being logged for toilet paper production. In fact, half a million hectares of boreal forest are cut down each year, the equivalent of seven field hockey rinks per minute. Yet these forests provide invaluable services to citizens and nature. In fact, in addition to being a true carbon sink, they are home to 70% of Aboriginal communities. Come to the screening of a part of the documentary film "The Issue with Tissue - a boreal love story" directed by Michael Zelniker, who will be present for this occasion followed by a discussion with Quebec actors of forest management and protection.

Zelniker headshot.png

Michael Zelniker

Longtime filmmaker and conservationist, THE ISSUE WITH TISSUE - a boreal love story, about the boreal forest and the Indigenous peoples who live there. boreal and the indigenous peoples who live there, marks Zelniker's first foray into documentary filmmaking.

As a director, Zelniker co-wrote, produced and starred in the critically acclaimed and award-winning feature film STUART BLISS. He also directed, co-wrote and produced the experimental feature film FALLING... which premiered at the Indie Fest USA international film festival. which premiered at the Indie Fest USA international film festival and won the festival's Best Film award.

francois-dufresne.png

Francois Dufresne

François is responsible for strategic planning, personnel and finance management, fundraising and stakeholder relations.

Walter pic 2022 (1).jpg

Walter Andreef

Walter Andreeff lives in Slave Lake in northern Alberta on the shores of Lesser Slave Lake. He has knowledge and experience in Indigenous-led land use assessments, familiarity with Métis Nation governance, and direct knowledge of best practices for Indigenous participation, collaboration, and partnership in environmental/impact assessments. Walter has a science degree in Applied and Environmental Geology and has worked with Alberta and BC Indigenous communities over the past 25 years. He is a member of the Métis Nation of Alberta (MNA) community and a local mushroom harvester and hunter. He currently works for MNA Region 5 and currently sits as a member of the Circle of Experts assisting the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada and is a voluntee of the Northern Boreal Caribou Knowledge Consortium Indigenous Knowledge Committee for Environment and Climate Change Canada. He has been a member of Climate Reality Project Canada since 2008 and is a member of the Indigenous Advisory Circle.

photo Kim 2021.jpg

Kim Marineau

Kim Marineau, consultant in ecology and botany since 1999, has been a biologist since 1988 (UQAM), and holds a master's degree in environmental sciences (1992) from UQAM. For more than 30 years, she has acquired a diversified experience in plant ecology, botany and ecosystem management by carrying out more than 300 studies concerning ecosystems and flora and carrying out inventories in private and public territories almost everywhere in Quebec. She has been teaching for the masters degree in environmental management at the CUFE of the University of Sherbrooke since 2011 and is a speaker on subjects relating to biodiversity and the management of natural environments. She is a founding member and vice-president of Éco-corridors laurentiens, a conservation organization that promotes the creation of protected areas and eco-corridors and is vice-president of the Société québécoise de bryologie. She has also just founded in 2021 the collaborative organization Marathon.

Véronique-bruissières

Véronique Bussières

Véronique has been the Manager of Biocultural and Marine Conservation at the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society—Québec chapter (SNAP Québec). As an expert in Indigenous-led nature conservation, Véronique has been working for 20 years in close collaboration with members of Indigenous communities and organisations from across Québec towards the protection of bioculturally significant territories, in accordance with Indigenous values, worldviews and institutions.

Mercredi 16 novembre

Biodiversité
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE

COP27 et COP15, quels sont les liens ?

Les enjeux du réchauffement climatique et de la perte de la biodiversité sont intrinsèquement liés et empreints d’une relation bidirectionnelle. Cependant, bien que le Sommet de la Terre en 1992 ait donné naissance à la Convention sur la diversité biologique et celle sur les changements climatiques, les négociations internationales y sont menées de manière parallèle. Ainsi, quels sont les rapprochements à faire entre ces deux CdP ? Comment les avancées de l’une de ces Conférences des Parties peut-elle influencer l’autre ? À quoi pouvons-nous nous attendre de ces deux sommets cette année ?

Anne_Céline Guyon.PNG

Anne-Céline Guyon

Détentrice d’une maîtrise en anthropologie de l’Université Laval, c’est en 2016 qu’Anne-Céline fait le saut professionnel dans la lutte aux changements climatiques en coordonnant la coalition contre l’oléoduc Énergie Est. Depuis, elle a été à la coordination du Front commun pour la transition énergétique et du Pacte pour la transition. En 2021, elle rejoint l’équipe de Nature Québec comme chargée de projet climat.

Dominique Gravel.png

Dominique Gravel

Dominique est professeur en écologie terrestre et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en écologie intégrative.

Diego.jpg

Diego Creimer

Diego est responsable solutions naturelles pour le climat et relations gouvernementales à la SNAP Québec.

andrew_gonzalez.jpeg

Andrew Gonzalez

Andrew est professeur au département de biologie à McGill University et directeur fondateur du Centre québécois pour la science de la biodiversité.

Il a également co-fondé Eco2Urb.

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 16 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette neuvième journée qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
18h à 20h30 HE

Conserver les forêts boréales canadiennes : une priorité pour respecter les cibles fixées par l'Accord de Paris

Maison du Développent Durable · Salle Clark
50 rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest

D’une importance majeure que ce soit culturellement, économiquement et environnementalement, les forêts boréales canadienne font aujourd’hui l’objet d’une exploitation forestière importante pour la production de papier toilette. En effet, ce serait un demi-million d’hectares de forêt boréale abbatu chaque année, soit l’équivalent de sept patinoires de hockey par minute. Pourtant ces forêts offrent des services inestimables aux citoyens et à la nature. En effet, en plus d’être un véritable puits de carbone, elle abrite 70% des communautés autochtones. Venez assister au visionnage d’une partie du film documentaire de “The Issue with Tissue - a boreal love story” réalisé par Michael Zelniker, qui sera présent pour cette occasion suivi d’une discussion avec des acteurs québécois de la gestion et protection des forêts.

Zelniker headshot.png

Michael Zelniker

Cinéaste et écologiste de longue date, THE ISSUE WITH TISSUE - une histoire d'amour boréale, sur la forêt boréale et les peuples autochtones qui y vivent. boréale et les peuples indigènes qui y vivent, marque la première incursion de Zelniker dans la réalisation de documentaires.

En tant que réalisateur, Zelniker a coécrit, produit et joué le personnage principal dans le film STUART BLISS, un long métrage acclamé par la critique et récompensé dans de nombreux festivals. Il a également Il a également réalisé, coécrit et produit le long métrage expérimental FALLING... qui a été présenté en première au festival international du film Indie Fest USA. qui a été présenté en première au festival international du film Indie Fest USA et qui a remporté le prix du meilleur film du festival.

francois-dufresne.png

François Dufresne

François est responsable de la planification stratégique, de la gestion du personnel et des finances, du financement et des relations avec les parties prenantes.

Walter pic 2022 (1).jpg

Walter Andreef

Walter Andreeff vit à Slave Lake, dans le nord de l'Alberta, sur les rives du Petit lac des Esclaves. Il possède une bonne connaissance de la gouvernance des nations métisses et une connaissance directe des meilleures pratiques en matière de participation, de collaboration et de partenariat avec les Autochtones dans le cadre des évaluations environnementales et des impacts. Walter est titulaire d'un diplôme scientifique en géologie appliquée et environnementale et a travaillé avec les communautés autochtones de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique au cours des 25 dernières années. Il est membre de la communauté de la Nation métisse de l'Alberta (NMA) et un cueilleur et chasseur de champignons local. Il travaille actuellement pour la région 5 de la NMA et fait partie du cercle d'experts qui assiste l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation des impacts. Il est également bénévole du comité du savoir autochtone du Northern Boreal Caribou Knowledge Consortium pour Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

photo Kim 2021.jpg

Kim Marineau

Kim Marineau, consultante en écologie et botanique depuis 1999, est biologiste depuis 1988 (UQAM), et détient une maîtrise en Sciences de l’environnement (1992) de l’UQAM. Depuis plus de 30 ans, elle a acquis une expérience diversifiée en écologie végétale, en botanique et en gestion des écosystèmes en réalisant plus de 300 études concernant les écosystèmes et la flore et réalisé des inventaires dans des territoires privés et publics presque partout au Québec. Elle enseigne à la maîtrise en gestion de l’Environnement au CUFE de l’Université de Sherbrooke depuis 2011 et est conférencière sur des sujets touchant la biodiversité et la gestion des milieux naturels. Elle est membre fondatrice et vice-présidente d’Éco-corridors laurentiens, un organisme de conservation qui fait la promotion de la création d’aires protégées et d’éco-corridors et est vice-présidente de la Société québécoise de bryologie. Elle vient également de fonder en 2021 l’organisme Marathon collaboratif.

Véronique-bruissières

Véronique Bussières

Véronique Bussières est responsable de conservation bioculturelle et marine à la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada – section Québec (SNAP Québec). En tant que spécialiste de la conservation de la nature menée par les Autochtones, Véronique travaille depuis 20 ans en étroite collaboration avec des membres de plusieurs communautés et organisations autochtones d’à travers le Québec vers la protection de territoires d’importance bioculturelle, dans le respect des valeurs, visions du monde et institutions autochtones.