PRESENTATION

Mission and context

What are the Climate Dialogues?

Aiming to demonstrate a consensus on the need for raising climate ambition to meet the objectives of the Paris Agreement , the Climate Dialogues form a two-week event by offering a host of intersectoral meetings in a program supported and co-created by civil society groups in Quebec._cc781905-5cde -3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_ By federating spaces for exchanges in parallel with international climate negotiations, the Climate Dialogues facilitate the participation of civil society – too often compromised by numerous barriers – in these major climate events.

For the 2nd edition, the Climate Dialogues will also be held before and after the 27th Conference of the Parties (CdP-27) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change in order to prepare Quebec civil society for this highlight of the international climate agenda, to provide tools to limit global warming below 1.5°C and to continue the mobilization.

context

The Conferences of the Parties (CdP) or Conferences of the Parties (COP) are pivotal moments in diplomacy and international cooperation in the fight against the climate crisis.  Historically, during these summits on the climate, the mobilization of civil society has largely contributed to generating increased climate ambition and to reducing the gap between the delegations participating in the formal negotiation spaces and those observing.

 

And COP-27?

COP-27 will be a crucial moment to assess whether States have kept their promises, whether they have been able to present more ambitious Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), in order to limit global warming to 1.5°C . COP-27 will also be an opportunity to ensure that all voices are heard globally to advance climate justice.

Three axes of programming 

Breakfast panels

The day opens with a discussion with people who are experts in a specific climate-related issue in order to offer a popularization workshop on the major themes on the daily agenda of COP-27. The breakfast panel proposes to link climate negotiations to local issues in Quebec by discussing with the participants, mobilizing them and identifying possible solutions. 

Debriefing sessions

People report daily on events, announcements and the progress of live negotiations from COP-27 in Egypt, while answering questions from civil society. These “debriefing” sessions see the emergence of new collaborations and mobilization strategies to challenge the general public, decision-makers and other stakeholders  of influence in climate matters.

Major meetings

The Major civil society meetings are an opportunity to offer rich and diversified panels led by the partner organizations of the Climate Dialogues, their members and their partners as well as citizens who wish to get involved. The key themes of climate policy are explored in depth, and levers for action to raise the ambition of Quebec and Canada are explored.

Six goals

Support an intersectional and intergenerational dialogue to foster the
raising the ambition of states, federated states like Quebec,
cities and regions

1

4

Highlight the interrelation between international climate negotiations
and levels of action from international to local

2

Promote the participation of Quebec civil society in COP-27 and engage
citizens towards the appropriation of climate issues for them
ladder

5

Make the voices of civil society heard.

3

Highlight the knowledge and expertise of civil society in the fight against
against climate change

6

Be part of a perspective of participatory democracy encouraging the
co-creation and networking

Three principles 

Diversity of programming to foster inclusion

Free to actively participate in meetings

Accessibility to the event for people who have difficulty joining a virtual event. Activities mainly in French, with the possibility of including English-speaking communities

PRÉSENTATION

MISSION ET CONTEXTE

Les Dialogues pour le climat, c'est quoi?

Visant à démontrer un consensus sur le besoin de rehausser l'ambition climatique pour répondre aux objectifs de l’Accord de Paris, les Dialogues pour le climat forment un événement de deux semaines en proposant une foule de rencontres intersectorielles dans une programmation portée et co-créée par des groupes de la société civile du Québec. En fédérant des espaces d’échanges en parallèle des négociations climatiques internationales, les Dialogues pour le climat facilitent la participation de la société civile –trop souvent compromise par de nombreuses barrières – à ces grands rendez-vous climatiques.

Pour la 2e édition, les Dialogues pour le climat se tiendront également en amont et en aval de la 27e Conférence des Parties (CdP-27) à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques afin de préparer la société civile québécoise à ce moment fort de l’agenda climatique international, de fournir des outils pour limiter le réchauffement en deçà de 1,5°C et de poursuivre la mobilisation.

Contexte

Les Conférences des Parties (CdP) ou Conferences of the Parties (COP) sont des moments charnières de la diplomatie et de la coopération internationale dans la lutte contre la crise climatique. Historiquement, lors de ces sommets sur le climat, la mobilisation de la société civile a largement contribué à générer une ambition climatique rehaussée et à atténuer le fossé entre les délégations participantes aux espaces de négociations formels et celles observatrices.

 

Et la CdP-27?

La CdP-27 sera un moment crucial pour évaluer si les États ont tenu leurs promesses, s’ils ont été capables de présenter des contributions déterminées au niveau national (CDN) plus ambitieuses, afin de limiter à 1,5°C le réchauffement planétaire. La CdP-27 sera également l’occasion de nous assurer que toutes les voix seront entendues à l’échelle mondiale afin de favoriser la justice climatique.

TROIS AXES DE PROGRAMMATION

Panels du petit-déjeuner

La journée s'ouvre par une discussion avec des personnes expertes d'un enjeu spécifique lié au climat afin d'offrir un atelier vulgarisation sur les grands thèmes à l’agenda quotidien de la CdP-27. Le panel du petit-déjeuner propose de lier les négociations climatiques à des enjeux locaux au Québec en échangeant avec les personnes participantes, en les mobilisant et en identifiant des pistes de solution. 

Séances de débreffage

Des personnes font le bilan quotidien des événements, des annonces et de l'avancement des négociations en direct de la CdP-27 en Égypte, tout en répondant aux questions de la société civile. Ces séances de «débreffage» voient émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation pour interpeler le grand public, les décideuses et décideurs ou encore d'autres parties prenantes  d’influence en matière de climat.

Grands rendez-vous

Les Grands rendez-vous de la société civile sont l'occasion de proposer des panels riches et diversifiés animés par les organisations partenaires des Dialogues pour le climat, leurs membres et leurs partenaires ainsi que les citoyens et citoyennes qui souhaitent s'impliquer. Des thèmes phares de la politique climatique sont approfondis, et les leviers d'action pour rehausser l'ambition du Québec et du Canada sont explorés.

SIX OBJECTIFS

Soutenir un dialogue intersectionnel et intergénérationnel pour favoriser le
rehaussement de l’ambition des États, des États fédérés comme le Québec, des
villes et des régions

1

2

Favoriser la participation de la société civile québécoise à la CdP-27 et engager
les citoyennes et les citoyens vers l’appropriation des enjeux climatiques à leur échelle

3

Mettre en valeur les savoirs et les expertises de la société civile en matière de lutte contre les changements climatiques

4

Mettre en évidence l’interrelation entre les négociations climatiques internationales
et les niveaux d’action de l’international au local

5

Faire entendre les voix de la société civile.

6

S'inscrire dans une perspective de démocratie participative encourageant la cocréation et la mise en réseau

TROIS PRINCIPES

La diversité de la programmation pour favoriser l’inclusion

La gratuité pour participer activement aux rencontres

L’accessibilité à l’événement pour les personnes ayant des difficultés à joindre un événement virtuel. Des activités principalement en français, avec une possibilité d’inclure les communautés anglophones