Poets for climate 

Poets for Climate is a collaborative project between Climate Dialogues and Climate Reality Project branches in the Philippines, Canada and Africa that aims to provide a platform for expressing the urgency of acting on the climate crisis, highlighting its consequences in different regions of the world and proposing solutions.

 

Inspired by Poets for Science , a collection of poetry and movement created in collaboration with poet and essayist Jane Hirshfield, which explores the connections between poetry and science, Poets for Climate brings together the words and perspectives of climate artists in the Philippines, Canada, and Africa to create pebble poems. Composed of just three or four lines, these poems capture the imagination of their leaders and help amplify the movement for climate action and justice around the world.   

Edition 2022 
Interdisciplinary and creative expression on the climate future

Capture.PNG

Six Montreal graffiti artists brought the street to life by creating live art. Inspired by poems from a global collaboration, their creations are an expression of the urgency to protect the climate and to imagine a sustainable world! 

Poets, poetesses, slammerthey, writeres of the gathered worldes  around co-creation workshops 

Forêt

Forests 

August 4 

Arbres du désert

deserts

& arid areas

August 11 

Côte de Normandie

Islands and coastal areas

August 18 

Paysage montagneux

Tundra and mountains

August 25 

réserve naturelle

  Fresh water

September 1st 

spaceman.jpg

Joel De Villiers (aka Spaceman Dela) devoted himself to his art from an early age delivering what some call "cosmic poetry for the soul" and portraying his most human emotions and weirdest curiosities. through his music. Recognizing his unique writing abilities and gift for using words to tell stories, Joel uses his creative skills to promote healing and practice introspection, covering a wide range of topics in his field. Through his lyrics and songs, "Space Man" aims to bring listeners back down to earth and help create a more united and conscious collective by encouraging self-expression, vulnerability and self-awareness. . 

Charlene Winger Jones is a water walker, she walks for water.It is everyone's responsibility to take care of water.She walked in ceremonial form along the Bruce Trail, a 740 km walking trail used by her people since time immemorial for trade, at the rate of approximately 20 km a day and a 6 week commitment. She also participates in community events on the environment and water, asserting Indigenous rights, and serves on the Nawash Hereditary Council as head of the Jones family. She also enjoys making pottery and attends events organized by the Bagida'waad Alliance. She is   proud to be a 2019 Minneapolis-trained Climate Reality Ambassador, and she wants to create greater water awareness.

char.jpeg
Hayley.PNG

Hayley Sales is a Canadian-American singer-songwriter and actress, as well as a Climate Reality Ambassador. Sales' debut album, Sunseed, was released on June 19, 2007; the songs "Keep Drivin" and "What You Want" reached No. 11 on the Japan Hot 100 and No. 45 on the Canadian Hot 100, respectively. His second album, When the Bird Became a Book, was released on June 21, 2010, and includes duets with musicians G. Love and Donavon Frankenreiter. Sales has been a strong advocate for ocean conservation since the start of his career. While living in Florida, she gave numerous concerts to benefit The Sea Turtle Preservation. Most recently, she contributed to the Surfrider Foundation by collaborating with O'Neill Surf Company to create a charity T-shirt with all proceeds going to ocean conservation. In 2010, the song "Not In His Garden", featuring Donavon Frankenreiter, appeared on David Suzuki's "Playlist For the Planet". Among her other charitable activities, she participated in a documentary for the W Network (CAN), "Making Waves. 

Clémence Roy-Darisse is an author, actress and director. Eco-concerned, she incorporates her passion for the environment and social justice in the substance and form of her works. First trained to act, (Theater School of the Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe, Danielle Fichaud, Bachelor of Theater at the University of Ottawa) she took part in a few productions and approached directing. She obtained two creation residencies for her piece Profil, then two creation grants for her text Laurence. In 2021, she was author in residence at the Théâtre de l'île to write a play on eco-emotions. Finally, Clémence is currently working on a thesis on the role of theater in the face of the climate crisis.  Her thesis focuses on the role of theater in the face of the climate crisis. She is also a researcher affiliated with the research group on art and ecology of the Société québécoise d'études théâtrales.

clémence.jpg

Graffiti Artists·her·

guillaume.PNG

Gallium was born in Tokyo and raised in France, and moved to Montreal in 2017. Trained as an illustrator, he works as a visual artist in the video game industry. In parallel, he expresses his fascination for the symbolic and mystical as a painter and street artist. He often paints on objects found in the street to give them a value and a new life. He draws his inspiration from ancient symbols, Thangka painting, Irezumi tattooing. Passionate about geometry, details and color contrasts, his style can be described as symbolic, surreal and psychedelic.

tshkrodile.PNG

Tshoko illustrator based in Montreal. Lulled by fantasy novels, comic books and science fiction movies, she has always preferred strong and combative heroines. Today, she pays particular attention to highlighting people who are less, or poorly, represented in her illustrations. She believes that the female imagery of Western societies is undervalued and internalized. Her work is about reclaiming this "girl" culture. Everyone should have diverse representations to identify with.

Linktr.ee

moule.PNG

Moule  is a multidisciplinary artist who has been living in Montreal for four years. Feminism, social justice, ecofeminism, gender and sexuality issues, her characters are communicators of socially important messages. Sometimes divine and fantastical, sometimes sweet and angry, her illustrations speak, cry, represent and fight for women and people oppressed by the patriarchal system. 

Facebook  

la barquette.PNG

La barquette is an emerging artist from Reunion Island. Her multiple artistic researches are mainly centered on the questions of gender, the relation to oneself/others, to plural feminisms as well as on her relation to the omnipresent nature since her most tender childhood. She tries, through her creations, to retranscribe graphically the bands of colors and joys which are essential for her to feel more at ease in her daily life. . 

https://www.laurabarquette.com/

Louis Letters.PNG

Louis Letters  is passionate about typography and lettering. Known for his unique style that he has developed over the years, letters are present in most of his creations. 

Sam'19 is a self-taught, multidisciplinary artist who has been living in Montreal for almost nine years. A sociologist by training, she expresses her social and political convictions through what she calls "little drafts". Each of her creations highlights her own emotions and aims to raise awareness and de-stigmatize subjects that are particularly close to her heart, such as mental health, feminism in all its forms, sexual emancipation of women, social inequalities and employment justice...

sam.PNG

This initiative is our response to When is Now, a global and creative collaboration for urgent climate action supported by Agam Agenda, the Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF) and the Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities.

 

When is Now brings together poems, visual art, murals and other forms of creative expression that reflect national and regional demands for climate action and people's lived experiences of climate action. to the climate crisis.

This initiative is made possible thanks to the support of the Fondation of Greater Montreal.

FGM_LOGO_fr_RENV_Horiz.png

Poètes et poétesses pour le climat 

Poètes et poétesses pour le climat, c'est un projet de collaboration entre les Dialogues pour le climat et  les branches du Projet de la réalité climatique aux Philippines, au Canada et en Afrique qui vise à fournir une plateforme pour exprimer l'urgence d'agir face à la crise climatique, à mettre en lumière ses conséquences dans différentes régions du monde et à proposer des solutions.

 

Inspiré de Poets for Science, un recueil de poèmes et un mouvement créé en collaboration avec la poétesse et essayiste Jane Hirshfield, qui explore les liens entre la poésie et la science, Poètes et poétesses pour le climat rassemble les discours et les perspectives d'artistes qui défendent le climat aux Philippines, au Canada et en Afrique pour créer des poèmes-cailloux. Formés de trois ou quatre lignes seulement,  ces poèmes frappent l'imaginaire de leur lectorat et contribuent à amplifier le mouvement de lutte en faveur de l'action et de la justice climatiques dans le monde entier. 

Édition 2022 
Expression interdisciplinaire et créative sur l'avenir climatique

Capture.PNG

En juin, six graffeur·euse·s montréalais·es ont animé la voie publique en créant des œuvres en direct. Inspirées de poèmes issus d'une collaboration planétaire, leurs créations sont l'expression de l'urgence de protéger le climat et d'imaginer un monde durable! 

À partir du mois d'août, nous animerons des ateliers virtuels de poèmes-cailloux en utilisant le module d'enseignement développé par la célèbre poétesse philippine Marjorie Evasco.

Ces ateliers virtuels porteront sur l'écriture de poèmes courts mais convaincants sur la relation de l'humanité avec des lieux définis comme des biorégions partagées de notre terre. Des poètes chevronnés, serviront de mentors pendant ces ateliers.

Poètes, poétesses, slameur·euse·s, écrivain·e·s du monde rassemblé·e·s autour d'ateliers de co-création 

Forêt

Forêts 

Le 4 août 

Arbres du désert

Déserts

& zones arides

Le 11 août 

Côte de Normandie

Îles et zones côtières

Le 18 août 

Paysage montagneux

Toundra et montagnes

Le 25 août 

réserve naturelle

 Eau douce

Le 1er sept 

spaceman.jpg

Joel De Villiers (alias Spaceman Dela) s'est consacré à son art dès son plus jeune âge en offrant ce que certains appellent de la "poésie cosmique pour l'âme" et en dépeignant ses émotions les plus humaines et ses curiosités les plus étranges à travers sa musique. Reconnaissant ses capacités d'écriture uniques et son don pour utiliser les mots pour raconter des histoires, Joel utilise ses compétences créatives pour promouvoir la guérison et pratiquer l'introspection, couvrant un large éventail de sujets dans son domaine. Grâce à ses textes et à ses chansons, l'"homme de l'espace" vise à ramener les auditeurs sur terre et à aider à créer un collectif plus uni et plus conscient en encourageant l'expression, la vulnérabilité et la conscience de soi. 

Charlene Winger Jones est une marcheuse de l'eau, elle marche pour l'eau. Il est de notre responsabilité à tous et toutes de prendre soin de l'eau. Elle a marché en forme de cérémonie tout au long du Bruce Trail, un sentier pédestre de 740 km utilisé par son peuple depuis des temps immémoriaux pour le commerce, à raison d'environ 20 km par jour et d'un engagement de 6 semaines. Elle participe également à des événements communautaires sur l'environnement et l'eau, en affirmant les droits des Autochtones, et fait partie du conseil héréditaire de Nawash en tant que chef de la famille Jones. Elle aime aussi faire de la poterie et assiste aux événements organisés par l'Alliance Bagida'waad. Elle est  fière d'être une Ambassadrice de la réalité climatique formée à Minneapolis en 2019, et elle veux créer une plus grande sensibilisation à l'eau.

char.jpeg
Hayley.PNG

Hayley Sales est une auteure-compositrice-interprète et actrice américano-canadienne, ainsi qu'une Ambassadrice de la réalité climatique. Le premier album de Sales, Sunseed, est sorti le 19 juin 2007 ; les chansons "Keep Drivin" et "What You Want" ont atteint respectivement la 11e place du Japan Hot 100 et la 45e place du Canadian Hot 100. Son deuxième album, When the Bird Became a Book, est sorti le 21 juin 2010, et comprend des duos avec les musiciens G. Love et Donavon Frankenreiter. Sales est un grand défenseur de la préservation des océans depuis le début de sa carrière. Alors qu'elle vivait en Floride, elle a donné de nombreux concerts au profit de l'association The Sea Turtle Preservation. Plus récemment, elle a apporté sa contribution à la Surfrider Foundation en collaborant avec O'Neill Surf Company pour créer un T-shirt de charité dont tous les bénéfices sont reversés à la préservation des océans. En 2010, la chanson "Not In His Garden", avec Donavon Frankenreiter, a figuré sur la "Playlist For the Planet" de David Suzuki. Parmi ses autres activités caritatives, elle a participé à un documentaire pour le réseau W Network (CAN), "Making Waves. 

Clémence Roy-Darisse est une autrice, comédienne et metteure. Éco-concernée, elle intègre sa passion pour l’environnement et la justice sociale dans le fond et la forme de ses œuvres. D’abord formée pour jouer, (École de théâtre du Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe, Danielle Fichaud, Baccalauréat en théâtre à l’Université d’Ottawa) elle prend part à quelques productions et aborde la mise en scène. Elle obtient deux résidences de création pour sa pièce Profil, puis deux bourses de création pour son texte Laurence. En 2021, elle a été autrice en résidence au Théâtre de l’île afin d’écrire une pièce sur les éco-émotions. Finalement, Clémence travaille présentement sur une thèse portant sur le rôle du théâtre face à la crise climatique.  Sa thèse porte sur le rôle du théâtre face à la crise climatique. Elle est aussi chercheuse affiliée au groupe de recherche sur l’art et l’écologie de la Société québécoise d’études théâtrales.

clémence.jpg

Artistes Graffeur·euse·

guillaume.PNG

Gallium né à Tokyo et élevé en France, Gallium a élu domicile à Montréal en 2017. Illustrateur de formation, il travaille comme artiste plasticien dans l’industrie du jeu vidéo. Parallèlement il exprime sa fascination pour le symbolique et la mystique en tant que peintre et street artiste. Il peint souvent sur des objets trouvés dans la rue pour leur redonner de la valeur ainsi qu’une nouvelle vie. Il tire son inspiration des symboles anciens, la peinture Thangka, le tatouage Irezumi. Épris de géométrie, des détails et des contrastes de couleur, son style peut être qualifié de symbolique, surréaliste et psychédélique.

tshkrodile.PNG

Tshoko illustratrice basée à Montréal. Bercée par les romans fantastiques, les bandes dessinées et les films de science-fiction, elle a toujours préféré les héroïnes fortes et combatives. Aujourd'hui, elle accorde un souci particulier à mettre de l'avant les personnes moins, peu ou mal représentées dans ses illustrations. Elle pense que les imaginaires connotés féminins dans les sociétés occidentales sont sous-évalués et intériorisés. Son travail consiste à se réapproprier cette culture de ""fille"". Chaque personne devrait avoir des représentations diverses auxquelles s'identifier.

Linktr.ee 

moule.PNG

Moule est une artiste multidisciplinaire vivant à Montréal depuis quatre ans. Féminismes, justice sociale, écoféminisme, questions de genre et questions sexuelles, ses personnages sont communicateurs de messages socialement important. Tantôt divins et fantastiques, tantôt mous et en colères ses illustrations parlent, pleurent, représentent et luttent pour les femmes et les personnes oppressées par le système patriarcal. 

Facebook 

la barquette.PNG

La barquette est une artiste émergente venant de l'île de la Réunion. Ses recherches artistiques multiples sont principalement tournées vers les questions de genre, le rapport à soi/aux autres, aux féminismes pluriels ainsi qu'à son rapport à la nature omniprésente depuis sa plus jeune enfance. Elle tente, par ses créations de retranscrire graphiquement des brides de couleurs et de joies qui lui sont essentielles pour se sentir plus à l'aise dans son quotidien 

https://www.laurabarquette.com/

Louis Letters.PNG

Louis Letters est passionné de typographie et de lettering. Connu pour son style singulier qu'il a développé au fil des années, les lettres sont mises à l'honneur dans la plupart de ses créations. 

Sam'19 est une artiste autodidacte et multidisciplinaire vivant à Montréal depuis bientôt neuf ans. Sociologue de formation, elle exprime à travers ce qu'elle appelle "les petits brouillons" ses convictions sociales et politiques. Chacune de ses créations mettent en avant ses propres émotions et ont pour objectif de sensibiliser et de déstigmatiser des sujets qui lui tiennent particulièrement à coeur comme la santé mentale, le féminisme dans toutes ses formes, l'émancipation sexuelle des femmes, les inégalités sociales et la justice en emploi

sam.PNG

Cette initiative est notre réponse à Quand c'est maintenant, une collaboration mondiale et créative pour une action climatique urgente supportée par Agam Agenda, le Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF) et l'Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities.

 

Quand c'est maintenant réunit des poèmes, des œuvres d'art visuel, des peintures murales et d'autres formes d'expression créative qui reflètent les demandes nationales et régionales d'action en faveur du climat et les expériences vécues par les gens face à la crise climatique.

Cette initiative est rendue possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation du
Grand Montréal.

FGM_LOGO_fr_RENV_Horiz.png