Friday November 11

Decarbonization
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET VIDEOCONFERENCING

Renewable energies and decarbonization: what energy cocktail for Canada

It is no secret that the burning of fossil fuels is the main cause of climate change. While the issue of decarbonization and energy transition has been a consensus in the scientific community to fight climate change for many years, the Parties to the COP have yet to agree on a comprehensive and common strategy to achieve a carbon neutral world. Join us on this panel to better understand how Canada's energy situation poses a challenge to meeting its international climate commitments, but also what are the best avenues to get there.

langlois-bertrand-simon.jpeg

Simon Langlois-Bertrand

Professor of political science at Concordia University and associate researcher at the Trottier Energy Institute at Polytechnique Montréal

Geneviève Gauthier.jpg

Genevieve Gauthier

National Director – Strategic Innovation at Econoler

Alexandre-gajevic

Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh

Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh works on climate policies and just transition in Canada. His current research focuses on climate change policy, energy transition, carbon pricing and green economy. Previously, he was a postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Political Science at McGill University. Between 2016 and 2018, he held positions at Yale University as a postdoctoral fellow at the MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies and a lecturer in the Department of Political Science. He holds a PhD from University College London. 

 
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 11 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for a report on this fifth opening day, which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties to present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintain a 1.5°C threshold within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding.  These sessions will certainly see the emergence of new collaborations and strategies mobilization of members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

Comm and COP: Mobilize for maximum impact

After a busy week of negotiations at COP27, the Climate Communication Community of Practice is gathering to lay the groundwork for post-CPD mobilization. Come and talk with climate negotiation experts and experienced mobilizers to identify the communication angles and engagement strategies that will mobilize people in the aftermath of the COP!

Philippe-simard.png

Philippe Simard

Strategies and public relations COPTICOM and lecturer at the School of Applied Politics at the University of Sherbrooke

Philippe Simard specializes in the areas of the fight against climate change, energy transition and international climate negotiations.

As an advisor at COPTICOM, Philippe relies on his expertise to carry out several analysis, strategic watch, writing and event planning mandates.  

A graduate of a master's degree in applied political studies, Philippe also works as a researcher for the Group for Studies and Research on International Affairs and Quebec (GÉRIQ) and for the Integrated Center for Research in Environment, Health and Society (PIRESS). . He is also a lecturer and research professional at the School of Applied Politics of the University of Sherbrooke.

As part of these functions, he actively contributed to the establishment of a graduate micro-program on international climate negotiations at the University of Sherbrooke, and still contributes to the writing of several books, analytical notes and articles of a scientific nature on international ecopolitics, international climate negotiations and Quebec climate paradiplomacy.

Marie-Ève Leclerc

Marie-Eve Leclerc

Project Manager, Mobilization at Équiterre

Passionate about the environment and people, Marie-Eve Leclerc has made sustainable development a principle of life that she applies on a daily basis. Over the past 10 years, she has worked with several environmental NGOs, dealing with awareness campaigns on climate change or sustainable mobility, the organization of eco-responsible events, or training and support. Convinced that the world can be changed one step at a time, she is involved in numerous citizen committees and environmental organizations on a voluntary basis. Her academic training in biology and agronomy and then, at the 2nd cycle, in agroforestry and integrated rural development, enabled her to respond to a curiosity and a need to understand living systems in order to have an overview and find solutions to complex problems. Marie-Eve Leclerc joined Équiterre in 2015 as project manager for special events and mobilization. In particular, it organized a symposium on local agriculture, the 2017 benefit race Changer le monde, as well as two marches for the climate, which each brought together 25,000 people in Quebec and Ottawa.

164288289_1085167211963544_2699678902941938813_n.jpg

Chloe Tremblay Cloutier

Head of the Demain le Québec Network, David Suzuki Foundation

Chloé holds a bachelor's degree in actuarial science and a master's degree in international studies where she had the opportunity to take an interest in the issues of global food security and climate change. In 2019, she worked in environmental education in Bogotá, becoming familiar with the concepts of agroecology.  Chloé finds herself fascinated by local action, the power to act of collective initiatives , the importance of living together and the influence of social movements. She finally joined the citizen mobilization team of the David Suzuki Foundation in 2020 and became responsible for the Réseau Demain le Québec project in 2022. The Réseau Demain le Québec today connects and supports more than 90 citizen groups across Quebec to make advance the socio-ecological transition in our communities. She is also interested in the practices of care and benevolence and in intersectional approaches.

Marie-andrée foucreault-therrien.png

Marie-Andrée Foucreault-Therrien

Coordinator of Mothers at the front and her allies in the Eastern Townships

3-4:30 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

Where are we with Quebec's commitment to the end of hydrocarbons?

By joining the Beyond Oil Gas Alliance (BOGA) in November 2021 at COP-26, an international alliance of governments and stakeholders working together to facilitate the phase-out of oil and gas production, Quebec has chosen to build momentum for greater climate ambition. But how has this promise played out over the past year? How has the energy crisis linked to the war in Ukraine reinforced the shocks on global energy markets? What is the status of Bill 21, whose main objective is to put an end to the search for and production of hydrocarbons and to the public financing of these activities?

Nicolas-Juneau.jpeg

Nicolas Juneau

Director General of Hydrocarbons and Biofuels at the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources

Holder of a bachelor's degree in biology and a master's degree in environmental sciences, Nicolas Juneau first worked in the university network and the private sector before joining the Quebec public service in which he has worked for eighteen years. year. Since March 2020, Mr. Juneau has acted as Director General of Hydrocarbons and Biofuels at the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, where he puts his experience and skills to work in order to develop an environment favorable to the deployment of the sector. Québec bioenergy company.

eric-pineault.jpeg

Eric Pineault

Professor in the Department of Sociology at UQAM, member of the UQAM Research Chair on Ecological Transition, of the Institute of Environmental Sciences and Associate Researcher at IRIS
Anessa-kimball.png

Anessa Kimball

Member of the teaching staff with tenure in the Department of Political Science of Université Laval

Anessa Kimball (prof/iel) is a tenured faculty member in the Department of Political Science at Université Laval. Kimball is Director of the International Security Center (CSI) at the Graduate School of International Studies (ETI), Co-Director of the Canadian Network on Defense and Security (RCDS), Member of the Defense & Security Foresight Group, North American team. He obtained his doctorate in political science at the State University of New York–Binghamton, USA. His research focuses on the interrelationship between domestic politics and foreign policy, defense and security, US foreign policy and US elections, international cooperation, and the economics of defense and military procurement. Kimball directs two separate research projects on burden sharing in NATO and the institutional conceptualization of informal defense and security arrangements.

ÉMILE-06.jpg

Emile Boisseau-Bouvier

Analyst, Climate Policy and Ecological Transition at Équiterre
C.Bonhomme.jpg

Charles Bonhomme

Public Affairs and Communications Manager at the David Suzuki Foundation

Passionate about innovation and the environment; history and geopolitics; public relations and strategic communications in business, Charles Bonhomme joined the David Suzuki Foundation in April 2021. As public affairs and communications manager at the David Suzuki Foundation, Charles manages the outreach of the Foundation's projects and oversees the communications of the organization. Since joining the Foundation, he has developed his expertise in transportation and in strategies for mitigating and adapting to climate change. Charles sits on several coalitions in the transport sector and in several areas aimed at decarbonizing the province of Quebec.  

Charles holds a Master's degree in Public and International Affairs from the University of Montreal, during which he completed an internship as a trade and environmental policy analyst with the Department of Global Affairs of the Canadian federal government.

Vendredi 11 novembre

Décarbonation
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Énergies renouvelables et décarbonation : quel cocktail énergétique pour le Canada

Cela n’est pas un secret : la combustion des ressources fossiles est la principale cause du dérèglement climatique. Alors que la question de la décarbonation et de la transition énergétique fait consensus dans la communauté scientifique pour lutter contre les changements climatiques depuis de nombreuses années, les Parties à la CdP ne se sont jamais encore entendues sur une stratégie globale et commune à adopter pour arriver à un monde carboneutre. Venez nous rejoindre sur ce panel pour mieux comprendre comment la situation énergétique du Canada constitue un défi pour remplir ses engagements internationaux en matière de climat, mais également quelles sont les meilleures avenues pour y arriver.

langlois-bertrand-simon.jpeg

Simon Langlois-Bertrand

Spécialiste en questions énergétiques ainsi qu'en relations internationales, Simon Langlois Bertrand enseigne la science politique à l'Université Concordia, à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, à l'Université McGill, ainsi qu'à l'Université Carleton.

Sa formation en affaires internationales, en science politique, et en génie informatique et industriel le mène à analyser et vulgariser les enjeux sociaux, politiques et techniques des politiques énergétiques et de développement durable, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la transition énergétique.

Geneviève Gauthier.jpg

Geneviève Gauthier

Geneviève Gauthier est une experte en transition énergétique qui conseille le secteur public et les organismes privés des secteurs commercial, institutionnel et industriel depuis près de 20 ans. Elle détient un baccalauréat en ingénierie de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal et détient une maîtrise du Georgia Institute of Technology à Atlanta. Mme Gauthier est directrice nationale des services de consultation chez Econoler, une firme de consultation avec près de 40 ans d’expérience dans la conception, la mise en œuvre, l’évaluation et le financement de programmes et de projets d’efficacité énergétique. Elle agit également à titre de formatrice pour le Canadian Institute of Energy Training (CIET). Elle est aussi co-auteure du livre Canadian Energy Efficiency Outlook: A National Effort for Tackling Climate Change, publié en 2018.

Alexandre-gajevic

Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh

Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh travaille sur les politiques climatiques et la transition juste au Canada. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la politique des changements climatiques, la transition énergétique, la tarification du carbone et l’économie verte. Auparavant, il était chercheur postdoctoral au Département de science politique de l’Université McGill. Entre 2016 et 2018, il a occupé des postes à Yale University en tant que chercheur postdoctoral au MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies et chargé de cours au Département de science politique. Il est détenteur d’un doctorat du University College London. 

 
12h00 à 12h45 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 11 Novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette cinquième journée d’ouverture qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
13h00 à 14h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Comm et COP : Mobiliser pour le maximum d'impact

Après une semaine de négociations bien remplie à la COP27, la Communauté de pratique en communication climatique se rassemble pour jeter les bases d'une mobilisation post-COP. Venez échanger avec des expert.e.s des négociations climatiques et des mobilisateurs.trices chevronné.e.s pour identifier les angles de communication et les stratégies d’engagement qui sauront mobiliser la population dans la foulée de la COP!

Philippe-simard.png

Philippe Simard

Stratégies et relations publiques COPTICOM et chargé de cours à l'École de politique appliquée à l'Université de Sherbrooke

Philippe Simard se spécialise dans les domaines de la lutte contre les changements climatiques, de la transition énergétique et des négociations climatiques internationales.

En tant que conseiller chez COPTICOM, Philippe mise sur son expertise pour mener à bien plusieurs mandats d’analyse, de veille stratégique, de rédaction et de planification événementielle.  

Diplômé d’une maîtrise en études politiques appliquées, Philippe travaille également comme chercheur pour le Groupe d’études et de recherche sur l’international et le Québec (GÉRIQ) et pour le Pôle intégré de recherche en environnement, santé et société (PIRESS). Il est également chargé de cours et professionnel de recherche à l’École de politique appliquée de l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Dans le cadre de ces fonctions, il a contribué activement à la mise sur pied d’un microprogramme de 2e cycle sur les négociations climatiques internationales à l’Université de Sherbrooke, et contribue toujours à la rédaction de plusieurs ouvrages, notes d’analyse et articles de nature scientifique portant sur l’écopolitique internationale, les négociations climatiques internationales et la paradiplomatie climatique québécoise.

Marie-Ève Leclerc

Marie-Ève Leclerc

Chargée de projet, Mobilisation à Équiterre

Passionnée par l’environnement et les gens, Marie-Eve Leclerc a fait du développement durable un principe de vie qu’elle applique au quotidien. Au cours des 10 dernières années elle a travaillé auprès de plusieurs ONG environnementales, s’occupant de campagnes de sensibilisation sur les changements climatiques ou la mobilité durable, de l’organisation d’évènements écoresponsables, ou encore de formation et d’accompagnement. Convaincue qu’on change le monde un geste à la fois, elle s’implique dans de nombreux comités citoyens et organisations environnementales à titre bénévole. Ses formations académiques en biologie et en agronomie puis, au 2e cycle, en agroforesterie et en développement rural intégré, lui ont permis de répondre à une curiosité et un besoin de comprendre les systèmes vivants afin d’avoir une vue d’ensemble et de trouver des solutions aux problématiques complexes. Marie-Eve Leclerc a rejoint Équiterre en 2015 comme chargée de projet aux évènements spéciaux et à la mobilisation. Elle a notamment organisé un colloque sur l’agriculture de proximité, la course bénéfice 2017 Changer le monde, de même que deux marches pour le climat qui ont chacune rassemblé 25 000 personnes à Québec et à Ottawa.

164288289_1085167211963544_2699678902941938813_n.jpg

Chloé Tremblay Cloutier

Responsable du Réseau Demain le Québec, Fondation David Suzuki

Chloé détient un baccalauréat en actuariat et une maîtrise en études internationales où elle a eu l’occasion de s’intéresser aux enjeux de sécurité alimentaire mondiale et aux changements climatiques. En 2019, elle travaille en éducation à l’environnement à Bogotá, se familiarisant avec les concepts d’agroécologie.  Chloé se retrouve fascinée par l’action locale, le pouvoir d’agir des initiatives collectives, l’importance du vivre-ensemble et l’influence des mouvements sociaux. Elle rejoint finalement l’équipe de mobilisation citoyenne de la Fondation David Suzuki en 2020 et devient responsable du projet Réseau Demain le Québec en 2022. Le Réseau Demain le Québec connecte et soutient aujourd’hui plus de 90 groupes citoyens à travers le Québec pour faire avancer la transition socioécologique dans nos communautés. Elle s’intéresse également aux pratiques du care et de la bienveillance et aux approches intersectionnelles.

Marie-andrée foucreault-therrien.png

Marie-Andrée Foucreault-Therrien

Coordonnatrice des Mères au front et ses alliés.es des Cantons de l'Est

15h à 16h30 HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Où en sommes-nous de l'engagement du Québec sur la fin des hydrocarbures ?

En se rattachant à l’alliance BOGA (Beyond Oil Gas Alliance) en novembre 2021 lors de la CdP-26, une alliance internationale de gouvernements et de parties prenantes travaillant ensemble pour faciliter l'abandon progressif de la production de pétrole et de gaz, le Québec a choisi de donner l’élan d’une plus grande ambition climatique. Mais comment cette promesse s’est-elle concrétisée depuis un an ? Comment la crise énergétique liée à la guerre en Ukraine a renforcé les chocs sur les marchés énergétiques mondiaux ? Où en est le projet de loi 21 visant principalement à mettre fin à la recherche et à la production d’hydrocarbures ainsi qu’au financement public de ces activités ?

Nicolas-Juneau.jpeg

Nicolas Juneau

Directeur général des hydrocarbures et des biocombustibles au Ministère de l'Énergie et des Ressources Naturelles

Détenteur d’un baccalauréat en biologie et d’une maîtrise en sciences de l’environnement, Nicolas Juneau a d’abord travaillé dans le réseau universitaire et le secteur privé pour ensuite joindre la fonction publique québécoise dans laquelle il y œuvre depuis dix-huit ans. Depuis mars 2020, M. Juneau agit à titre de directeur général des hydrocarbures et des biocombustibles du ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles où il met notamment son expérience et ses compétences à contribution afin de développer un environnement favorable au déploiement de la filière québécoise des bioénergies.

eric-pineault.jpeg

Éric Pineault

Professeur au Département de sociologie de l'UQAM, membre de la Chaire de recherche UQAM sur la transition écologique, de l'Institut des sciences de l'environnement et chercheur associé à l'IRIS
Anessa-kimball.png

Anessa Kimball

Membre du corps professoral avec titularisation au Département de science politique de l'Université Laval

Anessa Kimball (prof/iel) est membre du corps professoral avec titularisation au Département de science politique de l’Université Laval. Kimball est directrice du Centre sécurité internationale (CSI) à l’École supérieure des études internationales (ETI), co-directrice du Réseau canadien sur la défense et de la sécurité (RCDS), membre de la Defence & Security Foresight Group, North American team. Iel a obtenu son doctorat en science politique à la State University of New York–Binghamton, USA. Ses recherches portent sur l’interdépendance entre les politiques internes et la politique étrangère, la défense et la sécurité, la politique étrangère des États-Unis et les élections américaines, la coopération internationale et l’économie de la défense et des acquisitions militaires. Kimball dirige deux projets de recherche distincts sur le partage de fardeau dans l’OTAN ainsi que la conceptualisation institutionnel des accords informels de défense et sécurité.

ÉMILE-06.jpg

Émile Boisseau-Bouvier

Analyste, politiques climatiques et transition écologique chez Équiterre
C.Bonhomme.jpg

Charles Bonhomme

Responsable affaires publiques et communications à la Fondation David Suzuki

Passionné par l'innovation et l’environnement; l’histoire et la géopolitique; les relations publiques et les communications stratégiques en entreprise, Charles Bonhomme a rejoint la Fondation David Suzuki en avril 2021. À titre de responsable affaires publiques et communications à la Fondation David Suzuki, Charles gère le rayonnement des projets de la Fondation et chapeaute les communications de l’organisation. Depuis son arrivée à la Fondation, il développe son expertise en transports et en stratégies d’atténuation et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques. Charles siège sur plusieurs coalitions dans le secteur du transport et dans plusieurs domaines visant à décarboniser la province du Québec.  

Charles détient une Maîtrise en Affaires publiques et internationales à l’Université de Montréal, lors de laquelle il a complété un stage en tant qu'analyste aux politiques commerciales et environnementales au sein du ministère des Affaires mondiales du gouvernement fédéral canadien.