Monday 07 November

Leaders Summit
 
8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET - VIDEO CONFERENCE

Climate ambition breakfast

Exploding heat records in Europe, deadly floods in Pakistan or torrential rains in the United States, the year 2022 has again alarmed us about what could become usual in the coming decades. After a COP26 with strong climate ambitions, it is essential that COP27 keeps this same leitmotiv! And yes, keeping global warming below 1.5 degrees compared to pre-industrial levels requires revising its greenhouse gas reduction targets upwards. Join our Climate Ambition Breakfast to learn more about climate change issues and international climate negotiations.

Caroline.brouillette.jpg

Caroline Brouillette

National Policy Director at Climate Action Network Canada

Caroline is National Policy Director at Climate Action Network Canada, the largest network of organizations working on climate change and energy issues in Canada. She is also a contributor to the magazine L'Actualité, where she writes on climate issues, and sits on the management committee of the Société de la nature et des parcs du Québec. Caroline holds a Masters in Public Policy from the University of Singapore, where she specialized in economic analysis.

Capture d’écran 2022-11-07 à 08.01.27.png

Marouane Joundi

Project manager at Fondation Rivières

Holder of a master degree in political science from the University of Montreal, Marouane is interested in social movements, their media reception and their conditions of success in influencing public policies. A year after his arrival in Quebec, the young man from Morocco is involved in the movement for climate action, in particular as co-spokesperson for the collective La Planète s'invite à l'Université à la Marche mondial for the 2019 climate. Marouane joined Fondation Rivières this year.

Lapointe.jpeg

Philippe Lapointe

Communications Advisor at FTQ Construction
Kanahsohon_Deer.jpg

Kanahsohon Kevin Deer

Mohaw Community of Kahnawake

For the past 30 years, he has been involved in the preservation and revitalization of the Mohawk language.   He is also the guardian of spiritual knowledge at the Mohawk Trail longhouse, which involves knowledge of sacred songs, dances and rituals

 
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

November 7 debriefing

We find our team on site in Egypt for an assessment of this first opening day which aims to welcome leaders from around the world to the Conference of the Parties so that they present high-level ambitions and actions with a view to maintain a 1.5°C threshold within reach, adapt to protect communities and natural habitats and mobilize funding.  These sessions will certainly see the emergence of new collaborations and strategies mobilization of members of civil society. They make it possible to ensure greater transparency between the “in camera” discussions of the negotiators and the rest of the population, in addition to reducing the risk of a gap between the discourse and the international commitments of those elected and their practices.

 
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. ET VIDEO CONFERENCE

30 years of climate summits: what horizons for COP27?

The year 2022 marks the 30th anniversary of the adoption of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and its 27th Conference of the Parties (COP). After three decades of climate negotiations, several questions arise: what were the major advances made during these numerous climate meetings? What are the major challenges of this year's COP? What is the implication for civil society in these negotiations? This event will therefore shed light on the role of the COPs to date in the fight against climate change as well as on the prospects for progress that will take place this year in Sharm el-Sheikh.

csm_chaloux_a._96364a3dcd.jpg

Annie Chaloux

Associate Professor at the School of Applied Politics at the University of Sherbrooke
Director of the Climatoscope
Martin P. Incio.jpg

Martin Portocarrero

Environmental and youth program manager at AQOCI
Membre_de_lassus_st_genies2.jpg

Géraud de Lassus Saint-Geniès

Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Law at the University of Laval

Holder of a master's degree in international relations from the University of Montreal, Martín currently works as a program manager at the Quebec Association of International Cooperation Organizations (AQOCI). In particular, he is responsible for the Québec sans frontières (QSF) program. On the occasion of COP27, he will be in charge of coordinating an AQOCI youth delegation. 

Géraud de Lassus St-Geniès is an assistant professor at the Faculty of Law of Laval University, where he teaches environmental law and climate change law. Holder of a doctorate in law (Université Laval, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), he was a postdoctoral researcher for the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada at the Faculty of Law of McGill University and at the Center for International Governance Innovation. .

Annie Chaloux holds a doctorate from the National School of Public Administration and a master's degree in applied political studies from the University of Sherbrooke. His research focuses on international environmental agreements, multi-level climate governance, environmental politics and paradiplomacy, and international climate negotiations. She is also co-executive director of GÉRIQ and the Integrated Environment, Health and Society Research Center (PIRESS).

Lundi 07 novembre

Sommet des dirigeant·e·s
 
8h30 à 9h30 HE - VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Le petit-déjeuner de l'ambition climatique

Records de chaleur explosés en Europe, inondations meurtrières au Pakistan ou pluies diluviennes aux Etats-Unis, l’année 2022 nous a encore alarmé sur ce qui pourrait devenir habituel dans les prochaines décennies. Après une COP26 à forte ambition climatique, il est essentiel que la COP27 garde ce même leitmotiv ! Et oui, maintenir le réchauffement de la planète en dessous de 1,5 degré par rapport aux niveaux pré-industriels exige de réviser ses cibles de réduction de gaz à effet de serre à la hausse. Rejoignez notre petit-déjeuner de l’ambition climatique pour mieux vous outiller sur les enjeux de changements climatiques et de négociations climatiques internationales.

Caroline.brouillette.jpg

Caroline Brouillette

Directrice des politiques nationales au Réseau action climat Canada

Caroline est directrice des politiques nationales au Réseau action climat Canada, le plus vaste réseau d’organisations travaillant sur les questions liées aux changements climatiques et à l’énergie au Canada. Elle est également collaboratrice au magazine L’Actualité, où elle écrit sur les questions climatiques, et siège au comité de direction de la Société de la nature et des parcs du Québec. Caroline détient une maîtrise en politiques publiques de l'Université de Singapour, où elle s'est spécialisée en analyse économique.

Capture d’écran 2022-11-07 à 08.01.27.png

Jamie Latvaitis

Coordonnateur de l’engagement régional pour le Québec

Jamie Latvaitis est diplômé de l'Université Concordia en philosophie et en théories politiques. Son expérience se définit notamment par son implication dans les mobilisations étudiantes et citoyennes, et plus particulièrement par son rôle dans la création du mouvement universitaire pour les grèves climatiques de 2019. Son parcours l'a ensuite mené à organiser des camps de formation, des conférences, des manifestations et des rassemblements pour encourager un engagement collectif et synchronisé pour l'environnement et tout ce qui y est rattaché. Plus récemment, Jamie a consacré la majeure partie de son temps à l'agriculture communautaire et régénérative à petite échelle. Ce lien direct avec la terre est une façon plus personnelle de comprendre l'environnement dans son état actuel. Les connaissances théoriques de Jamie, son expérience de la mobilisation climatique et son savoir maraicher apportent une perspective originale aux questions sociales, économiques et environnementales qui doivent être abordées.

Lapointe.jpeg

Philippe Lapointe

Conseiller aux communications et responsable des dossiers environnementaux à FTQ Construction
Kanahsohon_Deer.jpg

Kanahsohon Kevin Deer

Communauté Mohaw de Kahnawake

Au cours des 30 dernières années, il a participé à la conservation et à la revitalisation de la langue mohawk.  Il est également gardien des savoirs spirituels à la maison longue du sentier Mohawk, ce qui implique la connaissance des chants, des danses et des rituels sacrés

 
12h30 à 14h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

Débreffage du 7 novembre

On retrouve notre équipe sur place en Égypte pour un bilan de cette première journée d’ouverture qui vise à accueillir les dirigeantes et dirigeants du monde entier à la Conférence des Parties pour qu'ils présentent des ambitions et des actions de haut niveau en vue de maintenir un seuil de 1,5°C à portée de main, s'adapter pour protéger les communautés et les habitats naturels et mobiliser des financements.  Ces séances verront certainement émerger des collaborations inédites et des stratégies de mobilisation des membres de la société civile. Elles permettent d’assurer une plus grande transparence entre les discussions « à huis clos » des négociateur·trice·s et le reste de la population, en plus de réduire les risques d’écart entre le discours et les engagements internationaux des personnes élues et leurs pratiques.

 
14h à 15h HE · VISIOCONFÉRENCE

30 ans de sommets sur le climat: quels horizons pour la CdP27?

L’année 2022 marque le 30ème anniversaire de l’adoption de la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques et de sa 27ème Conférence des Parties (CdP). Après trois décennies de négociations climatiques, plusieurs questions se posent : quelles ont été les avancées majeures effectuées au cours de ces nombreuses rencontres climatiques ? Quels sont les grands défis de la CdP de cette année ? Quelle est l’implication pour la société civile dans ces négociations ? Cet événement offre donc un éclairage sur le rôle des CdP à ce jour dans la lutte contre les changements climatiques ainsi que sur les perspectives d’avancées qui se dérouleront cette année à Charm el-Cheikh.

csm_chaloux_a._96364a3dcd.jpg

Annie Chaloux

Professeure agrégée à l'École de politique appliquée à l'Université de Sherbrooke
Directrice du Climatoscope
Martin P. Incio.jpg

Martin Portocarrero

Chargé de programmes environnement et programmes jeunesse chez AQOCI
Membre_de_lassus_st_genies2.jpg

Géraud de Lassus Saint-Geniès

Professeur adjoint à la faculté de droit à l'Université de Laval

Titulaire d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de l’Université de Montréal, Martín travaille actuellement comme chargé de programmes à l’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI). Il est notamment responsable du programme Québec sans frontières (QSF). À l’occasion de la COP27, il sera en charge de la coordination d’une délégation jeunesse de l’AQOCI. 

Géraud de Lassus St-Geniès est professeur adjoint à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Laval, où il enseigne notamment le droit de l’environnement et le droit des changements climatiques. Titulaire d’un doctorat en droit (Université Laval, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), il a été chercheur postdoctoral du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada à la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill et au Centre for International Governance Innovation.

Annie Chaloux détient un doctorat de l'École nationale d'administration publique et une maîtrise en études politiques appliquées de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Ses recherches portent principalement sur les ententes environnementales internationales, la gouvernance climatique à paliers multiples, la politique et la paradiplomatie environnementale, ainsi que les négociations climatiques internationales. Elle est également co-directrice exécutive du GÉRIQ et du Pôle Intégré de Recherche Environnement, Santé et Société (PIRESS).